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I. Introduction 
 

In January 2010, Governor Lynch introduced the New Hampshire Working program to assist 
employers and employees in New Hampshire struggling in the current economy. The New 
Hampshire Working program is the Governor’s 3-part initiative to help workers Stay at Work, 
Return to Work, and Get Ready to Work. The Stay at Work program is now commonly 
referred to as the New Hampshire WorkShare program. A complete law reference is available 
at www.gencourt.state.nh.us/legislation/2010/SB0501.html. 
 
Although there is evidence the economy is improving, employers are still struggling to keep 
their trained workforce in place. WorkShare can help employers temporarily reduce their 
workforce hours in a particular unit, shift or company by 10 - 50% and prevent layoffs. 
Employers can then increase the work hours for employees when business improves. 
 
When employers are able to retain employees and avoid layoffs, the morale and productivity 
in the workplace can be maintained. In the WorkShare program, affected employees have 
their hours reduced rather than eliminated, keep their health insurance and any other fringe 
benefits, and can collect wages for hours worked plus a supplemental unemployment 
compensation benefit for the reduced hours. 
 
Per New Hampshire State Law, a submitted plan must:  
 
 identify the affected unit or units to which it applies;  
 identify the affected employees by name and social security number;  
 include the normal weekly hours worked for each affected employee;  
 reduce the normal weekly hours worked per employee of the affected unit(s) by no 

less than 10 and no more than 50 percent;  
 distribute said percentage equally among the affected employees;  
 continue to provide health and retirement benefits as though all normal weekly hours 

were worked by the affected employees and specify the effect, if any, the reduction in 
work hours will have on other fringe benefits provided by the employer;  

 specify a beginning date greater than 21 calendar days from the current date; and 
 specify an ending date less than or equal to 26 weeks from the beginning date. 
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II. Logging in to File a Plan 
 
If you wish to submit a WorkShare Plan application, you will need to be a registered web-
user in the NH Unemployment Insurance System (NHUIS).  You will need to use your login 
and password for your existing account to access and complete the application. If you do not 
currently have an online user account, please call (603) 656-6631 for assistance or go online 
to https://nhuis.nh.gov/employer/ to register with your UI Account Number, Federal 
Employer, and registration code that was mailed to you when the new NHUIS system went 
live. 
 
Once you have created your online account or if you have an existing account, log into your 
account by going to https://nhuis.nh.gov/employer/ and clicking on the link “Existing User 
Login” on the left side of the screen.  The system will navigate you to the Employer 
homepage, which has a new link “File/Manage WorkShare Plan.” 
 
Complete the online WorkShare application from your personal account located in the New 
Hampshire Unemployment Insurance System (NHUIS).  It will be helpful to have read 
through this document prior to starting an application and collecting any necessary 
information that will need to be submitted.  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
NHES suggests that you have all required information available before you start your 
WorkShare application, as the system may shut down after 10 minutes of inactivity. 
 

DO NOT USE  
THE BROWSER BACK BUTTONS WHILE SUBMITTING A PLAN. 

 
USING THE PREVIOUS BUTTON WILL CAUSE LOSS OF INFORMATION ON THE 
CURRENT PAGE IF THE DATA ON THE CURRENT PAGE IS NOT SAVED FIRST. 

 
 

 

2



 

III. Filing a WorkShare Plan 
 
Step 1:  Log into your NHUIS account and navigate to the Employer Main Menu screen. 
 
 
A. Employer Main Menu 
 

 
 
The link “File/Manage WorkShare Plan” has been added to this screen.   
 
 
Step 2:  Click on the little arrow just to the left of the link “File/Manage WorkShare Plan.”  
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Step 3:  The system will navigate to the WorkShare Plan Summary screen. 
 
B. WorkShare Plan Summary Screen 
 
 
 

 
 
This is the main screen that is used to file and administer WorkShare plans. 
 
If you have never filed a WorkShare plan before, this screen will not have any records. 
Prior to filing your first plan the only button that will be active on the screen is the “Add Plan” 
button. 
 
 

 
Step 4:  Click the “Add Plan” button. 

 
The first screen of the application will be presented. 
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C. Workshare Charge Status Screen 
 
The system will present the financial liability screen if you are a negatively rated, taxable 
employer. If you are presented with this screen, you do not have to agree by checking the 
box in order to proceed. As a condition of approval, if you are a negatively rated employer 
you must agree to reimburse NH Employment Security dollar for dollar for any WorkShare 
benefits paid.  

 
 
If you are a reimbursable or positively rated taxable employer, you will be presented with the 
first page of the application, the Add WorkShare Plan screen.   
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D. Add WorkShare Plan Screen 
This screen is broken up into 3 sections: Address Information, Contact Information, and Plan 
Information. All fields with an asterisk (*) need to be completed in order to save and move 
onto the next page of the application. 
 
Address Information 
 

 
 
The mailing address will be prepopulated with the corporate address that NH Employment 
Security has in the system.  If you wish to change this address, the fields are editable.  Put a 
checkmark in the box on the right of the screen that you verified this is your correct mailing 
address. 
 
Contact Information 
 

An email address is required to complete the plan application, however, you can elect to 
choose US Mail as your preference for receiving any correspondence pertaining to the 
WorkShare program. 
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Plan Information 
 
The Plan Start Date must be greater than 21 days out from the date of plan submission.  If 
that day is not a Sunday, you will need to enter the next date that is a Sunday.   
 
The Plan End Date cannot be greater than 26 weeks from the start date of the plan.  The 
date must be a Saturday. 
 
The Hours Reduction is the percentage you will choose to reduce the number of hours 
worked by your employees.  For example:  If a normal work week is 40 hours and the plan 
percentage is a 30% reduction in hours, an employee will be working 28 hours. 
 

 
Once this page is completed, click the “Save” button to determine if you have forgotten to 
enter any information or entered it incorrectly.  Click the “Save and Next” button to move on 
to the next page of the application. 
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E. Add WorkShare Plan Continued Screen 
 

 

If your business already has a scheduled shut down, enter the information now.  The dates 
must be in MM/DD/YYYY format.  You can enter future shut downs at any time after your 
plan has been entered. 

Once all required fields have been completed, click on the "Save and Next" button to proceed 
to the next part of the application to add participants.   

 

IV. Adding Participants to a Plan 
 
Your plan must include a minimum of two participants.  Participants can be added Manually 
or from the Wage Report, which is a list of employees NH Employment Security has from the 
Quarterly Wage Report from your business. 
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A. Adding Participants Manually 
You can add participants manually, which will require you to enter the Social Security 
Number (SSN), Last Name, First Name, Union Affiliation, and total number of Normal Hours 
worked by the employees.  
 
You can enter up to 10 records manually per screen.  You must completely fill in each field in 
order to successfully save your information; otherwise the system will prompt you to enter 
missing information. If you have more than 10 participants to add to a plan, click the “Add 
More Participants” button.  When you are done entering participants, click on the “Add All 
Participants To Plan” button. 
 

 
The system will navigate back to the “View/Edit Participants” screen with the new 
participants viewable on the screen.  Click on the “Save” button to save the information or 
click on the “Save and Next” button to proceed to the next screen. 

 
 
NOTE:  If you have previously removed a participant from an approved plan, the only way to 
put him or her back on the plan is by manual entry.  
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B. Adding Participants From Wage Report 
 
The button for “Add Participants From Wage Report” may be a quicker and easier way to add 
participants to a WorkShare plan, especially if you have a large number of employees. If a 
participant has wages in the most recent completed quarter of employment with your 
business, the participant will appear on this screen. This list of employees will show ten 
records per page, and will be listed in numerical order by Social Security Number. This screen 
also has a search function that allows you to search for a particular employee by name or 
SSN. 
 

 
 
Select the employee by putting a checkmark under the column Add to Plan. The 
representation by a Collective Bargaining Unit/Union and Normal Hours are also required 
fields for each selected record.  You may also choose to use the “Select All On Page” button 
if all individuals on a page are being added to a plan. 
 
To search for a particular employee to add to the plan, there are 3 options: 

1. Result Pages – click on additional pages to find the participant as the SSNs will be 
listed in numerical order.   

2. Search by Last Name – enter the Last Name of the employee (not case sensitive). 
3. Search by SSN – enter the Social Security Number of the employee without dashes 

or spaces. 
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Participants with grayed out information are already on the plan. They can be easily 
identified by looking at the Participant in Plan/Not in Plan column, which shows which records 
are In Plan or Not in Plan.  
 
If adding participants using the Result Pages option, you do not have to save each record 
individually and can select multiple participants across different pages. 
 
When searching by Last Name or Social Security Number, you must save your entry after 
each record searched by clicking the “Add Selected Participants to Plan” button. 
 
If you have multiple plans, a participant cannot be on 2 plans at the same time.  For this 
reason, if a participant is being selected for a new plan, and is already on an existing plan, 
the system presents a validation:  “SSN - This participant is active on another plan. You must 
remove the participant from the other plan before adding it to this plan.” 
 
If you answered "No" to having Union or Collective Bargaining Unit (CBU) representation on 
the first page of the application, you will not be able to answer “yes” on this page.  If you 
have a Union or CBU, you must use the “Previous” button at the bottom of each page to 
return to Add WorkShare Plan screen to change your answer.  
 
Click the “Add Selected Participants” button to save all changes and return to the View/Edit 
Participants screen.  When you are satisfied with the list, click on the “Save and Next” 
button.  
 

 
V. Completing The Plan 

 
A. Submitting a WorkShare Plan 
 
It is not necessary to submit a plan application after it has been started.  The WorkShare 
Program was designed to be saved after completing each page so that employers could save 
their work and return at a later time to complete the application.  You can log out of the 
application at any time, and the saved information will not be discarded.  When you log back 
into the system, the plan status will be displayed as “Incomplete”.  
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Note: If you do not submit the plan the day the application is started, you may have to 
change the start date of the plan as it needs to be greater than 21 days from the date of 
plan submission. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

WorkShare Plan Summary 
 

 
Select the Incomplete record and click the “View/Edit Plan” button. The system will navigate 
to the “Review Incomplete WorkShare Plan” screen. At the bottom of the page is an “Edit” 
button that will return you to the application. The “Previous” button will always bring you 
back to the screen you just completed. The “Next” button will bring you forward to certify the 
application. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
B. WorkShare Plan Summary 
 
After adding participants, the system proceeds to the Review Incomplete WorkShare Plan 
screen. This is an opportunity for you to review all information that has been entered.  If 
something needs to be changed, click the “Edit” button on the bottom of the page to return 
to the application.  Click the “Next” button to finish the application.
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C. WorkShare Plan Submission Checklist 
 
The WorkShare Plan Submission Checklist is a list of statements that you must read and 
acknowledge having read as a requirement of the program. Clicking on each check box 
indicates your agreement. In order to proceed, each one of these conditions must be 
checked off. When complete, click on the “Next” button. 
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D. Certify WorkShare Plan Application 
 

 
 
You must choose whether to submit the application, save it, or delete it.  One of the radio 
buttons must be selected to move forward with the application.  Once a choice is made, click 
the “Save Choice and Process as Indicated” button. 
 

The first option will submit the plan for review and put the plan in Pending Approval status. 
While pending approval, the WorkShare information cannot be changed by employers. Any 
changes that are necessary must be completed by the department’s WorkShare Unit. 
 

The second option will keep the plan in “Incomplete” status. This allows employers to make 
changes to information and submit the plan at a later date. 
 

The third option will delete all information that was entered.  You will need to start from the 
beginning to submit a plan. 
 
In order to confirm the action you wish to take, click on the “Save Choice and 
Process as Indicated” button. 

 
E. WorkShare Plan Confirmation 
 
When a WorkShare plan is complete and submitted, you will be presented a confirmation 
page to print for your records. 
 
 

If you have any questions or concerns, select the second option and call or email the 
WorkShare Unit for assistance. 
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VI. WorkShare Plan Status 
 

A. Viewing and Editing Plans 
 
To better understand what the status of your WorkShare plan means, please 
refer to the chart below.  The ability to access or edit a plan is controlled by the 
status of the plan. 
 
Plan Status Definition 

Incomplete The WorkShare plan was not submitted for approval on the 
day that the application was started.  Employers may decide 
not to finish the application and submit at a later date; 
however, the system may require that the start date of the 
plan be changed.  This is necessary to maintain the 21-day 
rule, which requires the start date of the plan to be equal to 
or greater than 21 days from the plan submission date. All 
parts of the application can be edited. 

Pending The plan is submitted and pending department approval. No 
changes can be made by the employer; information is 
accessible as view-only. If changes need to be made to the 
plan, please contact the WorkShare unit. 

Withdrawn The employer has chosen not to proceed with the WorkShare 
plan.  If an employer wishes to withdraw the plan, a request 
has to be made to the WorkShare Unit. The edit function is 
disabled for a Withdrawn Plan.  All information is accessible 
as view-only. 

Approved  The department has approved the submitted plan for an 
employer to take part in the WorkShare program.  This 
status allows the adding/editing of some information, 
including mailing address, contact information, shut down 
dates, participants, and filing WorkShare Weekly Claims.   

Not Approved The WorkShare Unit has reviewed the WorkShare application 
and has determined that an employer does not meet the 
requirements for the program under NH State Law. All 
information is accessible as view-only. 

Revoked Once a WorkShare plan is approved, if the WorkShare unit 
determines that an employer is not meeting the 
requirements of the program, the plan may be revoked.  The 
plan will be inactive and participants will no longer be eligible 
to receive any benefits.  An employer can file another plan at 
a later date.  The edit function is disabled for revoked plans.  
All information is accessible as view-only. 
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B. Editing an Approved Plan 
 
You will need to log into the NH Unemployment Insurance System (NHUIS) with 
your user name and password. From the Main Menu screen, choose the 
“File/Manage WorkShare Plan” link.  The system will navigate to the WorkShare 
Plan Summary screen below. 

 
Step 1:  Select an Approved Plan with the radio button. 
 
Step 2:  Click on the “View/Edit Plan” button. 
 
Step 3:  The system will navigate to the Review WorkShare Plan screen.  
 
 
This screen displays all of the information that has been entered on your plan to 
date. Take this opportunity to review all of the data you entered for addresses, 
contact information and plan information.  In order to edit the fields, scroll to the 
bottom of the page and click on the “Edit” button. 
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Step 4:  Click the “Edit” button. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Screen continues on next page. 
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Once a plan has been submitted and approved by the WorkShare Unit, you will 
be able to edit some sections of the plan. Mailing Address, Contact Information, 
Shut Down Dates, and Participants are fields you can edit.  To save changes, 
click on the “Save and Next” button at the bottom of each page.  Once the 
information has been saved, it is safe to log out or click the “Previous” button to 
navigate back to the WorkShare Plan Summary screen. 
 
 
C. Editing Shut Down Information 
 
As an employer, you can edit shut down dates; however, there are some 
limitations.  You can add and edit future shut down dates. Once the shut down 
has occurred or is the same as the current week, you can no longer remove or 
change the date.  Future shut down dates can always be added or deleted. 
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D. Editing WorkShare Plan Participants 
 
Employers can edit the participant list on Incomplete and Approved WorkShare plans.   
  

Function Plan Type 

Add Participants Incomplete and Approved 

Remove Participants Incomplete and Approved 

Edit Participant Union Status Incomplete   

Edit Participant Normal Hours Worked Incomplete   

 
 
Incomplete Plans 
 
You have the opportunity to make all necessary changes to a plan and review all 
information before submitting it for approval.  Participants can be added or removed. 
Their union status and/or normal hours worked can be changed.  If a participant is 
removed, he or she will no longer appear on the participant list. 
 
Approved Plans  
 
These plans are editable, however, there are some limitations to what information can 
be edited or added.  It may be necessary to change the participant list for several 
reasons, including personnel changes.  Employees may get promoted to other 
departments, transfer into a department on a WorkShare plan, quit employment, or go 
on leave.  It is the responsibility of the employer to keep WorkShare plans up-to-date 
regarding any personnel changes. For this reason, participants can be added or 
removed.  When participants are removed, the records still appear on the plan in 
inactive status.  This is necessary to maintain an accurate record of anyone that was 
on an active WorkShare plan for any period of time.  The normal work hours and union 
status of participants on approved plans cannot be changed. 
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Instruction for Editing Participants 
 
You can edit participants from the WorkShare Plan Summary screen. 

 
1. Select the plan you wish to make changes to. 
2. Click the “View/Edit Participants” button. 

 
3. System navigates to the View/Edit Participants screen.   

 
 
Incomplete Plan Screen 
 
The CBU/Union and Normal Hours fields can be edited. 

 
 
To add participants, click on the “Add Participants Manually” or the “Add Participants 
From Wage Report” button.  To remove existing participants, select a participant with 
the radio button to the left of the record and click the “Remove” button. 
 
 
Approved Plan Screen 
 
The Union and Normal Hours are grayed out and not editable.   
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E. Removing Participants 
 

From the View/Edit Participants screen, participants can be removed from Incomplete 
or Approved Plans.  Select the radio button of the individual participant you wish to 
remove, and click the “Remove” button.  The system navigates to the Remove 
Participant from Plan screen for additional information.  
 
NOTE:  If you have previously removed a participant from an approved plan, the only way to put them 
back on the plan is to add him or her manually. 

 
 
Reasons for Removal 
 
The system will prompt you for a Reason for Removal. The table below provides the 
list of options to choose from. 
 
Reason for Removal Definition 

Data Entry Error A participant was added to a plan that should not have been.   
Job Change A participant has changed positions with the current employer 

and no longer works for the department covered by the 
WorkShare plan or no longer works reduced hours.  

Job Promotion The participant has been promoted to another position and 
either does not work for the department covered by the 
WorkShare plan or no longer works reduced hours.  

Leave of Absence  The participant is on an approved leave of absence and is still 
job attached to the WorkShare employer with plans to return to 
work at a later date. 

Other This is an option when none of the other listed scenarios fit the 
situation. 

Separation The participant has been separated from employment with the 
WorkShare employer.  This choice requires additional 
information which includes date of separation and specific 
reason for separation. 
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Effective Date of the Removal 
 
The date entered must always fall on a Sunday, as that is the start of the WorkShare 
week.  The effective date can be the Sunday of the current week you are removing a 
participant from or for a future Sunday that falls within the WorkShare plan dates. The 
date must be in MM/DD/YYYY format. 
 
 
Date of Separation 
 
If the reason a participant is being removed from a plan is due to separation from 
employment, the system will prompt you for additional information.  The Date of 
Separation is the actual day that a person stopped performing work duties with the 
WorkShare employer.  The date must be in MM/DD/YYYY format. 
 
 
Reason for Separation 
 
The Reason for Separation drop down menu provides you with options to explain how 
the particular employee became separated from employment. 
 
 
Additional Reason for Separation 
 
If you entered the reason for separation as quit or fired, then the Additional Reason for 
Separation field must be completed.  Drop down options will vary depending upon 
Reason for Separation chosen.  Based on the answer of Quit or Fired, a list of options 
will be provided to choose from; if none best describes the situation, choose Other.  
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VII.  Viewing and Filing WorkShare Weekly Claims 
 
The WorkShare program operates differently from the regular Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) program.  As the employer, you are responsible for filing the 
weekly request for payment, known as the WorkShare Weekly Claim, for all 
participants on a WorkShare plan.  The weekly request for payment can be filed 
beginning Sunday 12:01 a.m. through Saturday at 11:59 p.m. for the previous 
week.  
 
There are several items that need to be tracked so information can be reported 
on the WorkShare Weekly Claim.  Such items include how many hours an 
employee worked each week, any leave time used by an employee, and any other 
earnings received by an employee.  The WorkShare Unit can provide you with a 
spreadsheet to assist in tracking this information for plan participants. 
 
 
A.  Filing a WorkShare Weekly Claim 
 
Weekly claims can only be filed on Approved Plans. You must log into your NHUIS 
account and navigate to the WorkShare Plan Summary screen.  Select the plan 
you wish to file the week for, and then click on the “File/View Weeks” button.  
 

 
 

The system will navigate to the WorkShare Plan Weekly Claim screen where you 
select the week you wish to file.  You may only file a WorkShare Weekly claim for 
the most recent week that has occurred. 

 
Remember: WorkShare weeks run from Sunday through Saturday.   
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As the employer, you only have the ability to file timely for the most recently 
completed week, which is available on the drop down menu.  If you forgot to file 
for a week or wish to file for any prior weeks during the plan that have not yet 
been filed timely, the WorkShare Unit must be contacted. 
 
If there are no dates listed, it is likely that your WorkShare plan has not yet 
started.  The effective date of the plan is a Sunday, and you cannot file until after 
that week ends on Saturday at midnight.  

 
 

B.  WorkShare  Weekly Claim Screen 
 

 
 
WorkShare Plan Weekly Claim Screen Elements 
 
The screen as shown above, has prepopulated fields that will always be 
presented, these include the Social Security Number, Last Name, First Name, 
Normal Hours and Reduced Hours. This screen also has fields that require you to 
enter information for each participant.  These fields are Actual Hours Worked, 
Hours Not Worked, Other Weekly Earnings, and Reason actual hours different 
than plan %. 
 
Normal Hours:  the total number of hours that a participant worked during a 
typical work week prior to the start of the WorkShare plan. 
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Reduced Hours:  the system-calculated number of hours that the participant will 
be working each week based on the plan percentage entered on the WorkShare 
plan when it was filed. 
 
Actual Hours Worked:  the total number of actual hours worked by a 
participant for the week which you are filing.  
 
Hours Not Worked:  represents the difference between Reduced Hours and 
Actual Hours Worked.  Generally speaking, the Hours Not Worked + Actual Hours 
Worked =  Reduced Hours. 
 
For example, if the reduced hours for a participant is listed as 28 hours, the 
participant should work 28 hours each week, and the Hours Not Worked field is 
left blank or a zero could be entered.  If you only enter 20 in Actual Hours 
Worked, the Hours Not Worked should be reported as 8.  
 
If one of your employees did not work the full amount of reduced hours and used 
vacation or sick leave, this would be an example of entering the Hours Not 
Worked as the hours of vacation or sick leave used.  If the employee worked all 
of the reduced hours and additionally took leave time, the leave time hours would 
be reported as Hours Not Worked. 
 
Other Weekly Earnings:  these earnings are received by a participant from 
other employment.  Your employees may have additional part-time jobs or be 
self-employed.  It is your responsibility as the employer filing the WorkShare 
Weekly Claims to report these earnings.   
 
Reason actual hours different than plan %:  is a required field when the 
actual hours worked is more or less than the reduced hours of the plan 
percentage.  Please select the reason that best fits the situation or choose Other 
if you do not find an option that is relevant.  Choosing Other should be used 
sparingly as it requires the WorkShare Unit to conduct fact-finding and determine 
if the claimant is payable, which will delay payment.   
 
(See table on the following page for details regarding Reason actual hours 
different than plan %) 
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Reason Actual Hours different than plan % 

Full week dept. or company shut down A participant worked no hours in a particular 
week due to a company or department-wide 
shut down. 

Full week lack of work There were no hours for a participant to 
work, as no work was available. 

Leave of Absence The participant is on a requested/approved 
leave of absence from employment. 

Other This option is available if no other option 
describes the situation of a particular 
participant. 

Partial week lack of work Employer had some available work for the 
participant to perform, but not enough to 
work the reduced hours of the plan 
percentage. 

Refusal of available hours The participant was offered work that he or 
she was able to perform, but chose not to 
report to work. 

Sick/FMLA leave The participant is on approved sick leave 
and/or covered under the Family and Medical 
Leave Act. 

Vacation/personal leave The participant has elected to use 
vacation/personal leave for which he or she 
will receive compensation for that week. 

Worked all available hours The participant worked all available hours 
offered to him or her by the employer, 
whether more or less than the reduced hours 
of the plan percentage. 

Worked normal hours The participant was offered and worked the 
normal hours of a typical work week and is 
not compensable under the WorkShare 
program for that week. 

  
 
In order to submit a week for processing, click the “Save” button at the bottom of 
each page.  As you complete each screen, click the “Save Page” button.  Navigate 
through all screens and all participants.  You must enter information for all 
participants on the screen.  Once complete, click the “Submit for Processing” 
button. If there are multiple pages of participants, you will need to navigate to 
the final page before this option is available.  When you have completed all the 
pages, the last page will contain the button “Submit for Processing” to ensure you 
are filing for all participants on the plan. 
 
Note:  If there are grayed out records, they represent participants that have been removed from 
the plan or recently added to the plan. You cannot file the WorkShare Weekly claim for a 
participant during the week that he or she has been added. The participant will be active the 
following week and that WorkShare Weekly claim may be filed. If you forgot to add the participant 
at the correct time, you can contact the WorkShare Unit for assistance. 
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C.  Viewing Filed WorkShare Weeks 
 
Log into your account and navigate to the WorkShare Plan Summary screen to 
view previously filed weeks. Select the approved plan for which you wish to view 
previously filed weeks.  Click the “File/View Weeks” button.  The system will 
navigate you to the WorkShare Plan Weekly Claim screen where you can select 
the week you wish to view. 
 

 
 
Click the “Go” button to navigate to the View WorkShare Plan Weekly Claim 
screen.  This screen has an added column to show the Week Status for each 
participant.  This will enable the employer to determine whether the week was 
payable, not payable, or is still pending. 

 

 
 
You can view submitted information anytime after you submit it.  The example 
above shows data on the same day it was submitted, and the Week Status 
reflects as pending.  
 
(See the table on the next page for Week Status definitions.) 
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D.  WorkShare Weekly Claim Status 
 

Week Status Description 

Pending The WorkShare week has been submitted and 
has not yet been processed.  There may be issues 
holding this week in pending status.  If the week 
has been in pending status for longer than 5 
business days, contact the WorkShare Unit. 

Waiting Week The first compensable week of any 
unemployment program, including WorkShare, by 
law serves as a waiting week.  The participant will 
not receive any monies for the waiting week. 

Paid The participant has been determined to be 
eligible for WorkShare benefits and payment has 
been issued.   

Denied The participant has been determined to NOT be 
eligible for WorkShare benefits that week.   

Pay Held The week has been processed but no payment 
has been generated due to an open issue holding 
the payment.  The issue has to be reviewed by 
the WorkShare Unit to determine eligibility for 
benefits that week.   

No Claim The participant has not filed a claim for 
unemployment compensation in the NH 
Unemployment Insurance System (NHUIS).   

Break in Claim                                    
(Blank Field) 

The participant has previously filed a claim for 
unemployment that included weeks prior to the 
WorkShare plan start date.  The participant 
should have restarted his or her claim the first 
week of the WorkShare Plan.  Contact the 
WorkShare Unit to resolve this issue. 

 
E.  WorkShare Benefits 
 
The WorkShare benefit is based upon the percentage of what a participant is 
eligible for under the Unemployment Insurance (UI) program.  For this reason, all 
participants have to file an application for unemployment compensation in order 
to be paid WorkShare.  This application is processed to establish what the UI 
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA) will be and if the individual is eligible under NH 
Unemployment Law. 
 
Once the UI Weekly Benefit Amount is established, the WorkShare benefit is 
calculated based on the plan percentage (chosen by the employer) when filing 
the WorkShare plan application.  The plan percentage can be anywhere from  
10-50%.  The WBA is multiplied by the plan percentage to determine the weekly 
WorkShare benefit amount.   
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Table of WorkShare Benefits 
 

 
UI Weekly 

Benefit Amount 
WorkShare Plan 

Percentage 

WorkShare 
Benefit 
Amount 

Participant A $427.00 20 $85.00 

Participant B $350.00 30 $105.00 

Participant C $125.00 40 $50.00 

 
 
The employee may or may not have established a claim prior to the employer 
filing a WorkShare plan.  If an employee has a current claim, there is the 
possibility that the employee can exhaust their maximum unemployment 
compensation benefit amount allowed under NH State law.  The employee must 
be eligible for unemployment benefits to be able to collect WorkShare benefits. 
 
When an employee's benefit year expires, a new claim for UI benefits needs to be 
filed. This will establish a new UI Weekly Benefit Amount. 

 
When an employee exhausts his or her UI benefits, an Emergency Unemployment 
Compensation (EUC) claim may be filed by the claimant and eligibility will be 
determined. This is only an option if EUC funds are available at that time. If an 
employee is nearing the end of his or her benefits, an indicator (XH) will appear 
next to the record when the WorkShare Weekly Claim is filed. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
When the XH indicator appears, contact the WorkShare Unit and they will 
determine the appropriate time for the participant to file a new application for 
unemployment compensation. 
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Employer Responsibility 
 
The WorkShare Program was established to assist both employers and employees 
during periods of economic hardship.  This is an employer-driven program that gives 
New Hampshire employers the responsibility of both filing and monitoring their plan(s).  
Please review the checklist below for your responsibilities once a plan has been 
approved. 
 
Check List 
 
 The WorkShare Plan Approval notice will indicate the start date of your plan.  This is 

potentially the first payable week of the plan. 
 

 Notify all employees in the plan that they must file a claim for benefits in the NH 
Unemployment Insurance System (NHUIS). Between the Sunday and Saturday dates 
of the first week of the plan, employees should go to www.nh.gov/nhes and select 
the “File for Unemployment Benefits” button. 
 

 You must collect and report any other weekly earnings your employees have earned 
from other employment. This must be reported on the WorkShare Weekly Claim. 
 

 You are responsible for filing timely weekly claims for all participants of a plan, 
including those who are part of a shut down for a particular week.  If any participant 
worked partial hours or did not work any hours during a given week, this must also 
be reported and reason provided. 
 

 It is your responsibility to answer questions about the WorkShare Program for 
employees participating in the program.  If you are unable to answer these 
questions, the WorkShare Unit at NH Employment Security is available to assist you.  
The contact information is listed on the following page. 
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Contact Information 
 
 
 

WorkShare Unit 
518 White Mountain Highway 

Conway, NH  03818 
Phone:  (603) 528-9360 
Fax:  (603) 447-3951 

Email:  workshare@nhes.nh.gov 
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