NHES and ELMI agency logos
New Hampshire Employment Security - an official New Hampshire Government web site
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

WorkShare plans may be submitted by any New Hampshire employer whose taxes are currently up to date and who is in good standing with the NH Department of Labor. They must certify that they are averting layoffs to full time or permanent part-time employees by reducing the number of hours worked between 10% - 50% in a specific class unit.

The reduction must be spread equally across all employees in the area and the employer must continue to provide health care benefits currently in place. A plan cannot start prior to 21 calendar days after submission of the plan and the plan cannot exceed 26 weeks, although a new plan can be submitted at the completion of a plan. WorkShare Plan denials can not be appealed; although an employer may submit a new plan for consideration.

Plans will not be approved for seasonal employment during the off season or as a subsidy for intermittent employment.

Upon approval of a WorkShare plan an employee must submit either an initial claim or reopen a claim for unemployment compensation and be approved to receive benefits under RSA 282-A. If approved, they will receive a weekly benefit rate, and a written determination detailing the employers and wages used in the base period to calculate the weekly benefit amount. If after reviewing the determination, the employee does not agree with the weekly benefit rate, they may contact us to provide documentation of missing wage information or have the right to file an appeal.

If the employer has employees covered by a collective bargaining agent or union, the plan must be approved, in writing, by the collective bargaining agent who cover the affected employees.

The waiting week is currently waived.

Individuals participating in a WorkShare plan are not required to look for new work. They must be able and available for the normal work week with the WorkShare employer and must work all the hours offered by the WorkShare employer in any given week up to the employee's usual weekly hours.

During the time Governor Sununu’s Executive Order 2020-4, Emergency Order #5, remains in effect, all employers are being relieved of all charges. Further, for purposes of WorkShare, all benefits paid under WorkShare, are being paid 100% by the US Department of Labor. This includes the $300.00 stimulus being paid under the CARES Act.

WorkShare provides benefits to employees who are experiencing a reduction in hours at their location or within their specific unit. Business owners and corporate officers are generally not eligible for WorkShare benefits.

Translation Resources and Disclaimer

New Hampshire Employment Security (NHES)
45 South Fruit Street  |  Concord NH 03301  |  603-224-3311  |  1-800-852-3400
TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964