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Licensure Requirements
Level I Wildlife Control Operators

• Must be a New Hampshire licensed trapper, 
requiring a cerƟ fi cate of competency, or 
proof of compleƟ on of a trapper educaƟ on 
course, or proof of a previously issued 
trapping license issued by this state, or any 
other state, province, or country

• Submit annually by June 30 a report on all furbearing animals killed during the open season for trapping wildlife 
and all nuisance furbearing animals killed outside the open trapping season during the previous year for the period 
June 1 through May 31

• Level I wildlife control operators may only trap furbearers, woodchucks, porcupines, opossum, and coyote outside 
of the season

Level II Wildlife Control Operators

• Complete a six-hour workshop covering topics related to wildlife control or be cerƟ fi ed by the NaƟ onal Wildlife 
Control Operators AssociaƟ on (NWCOA), or have held a previous Level II Wildlife Control Operators license

• Submit annually by June 30 a report on all nuisance furbearing animals killed outside the open trapping season 
and, if the operator also holds a regular trapping license, on all furbearing animals killed during the open season for 
trapping wildlife during the previous year for the period June 1 through May 31

Wildlife Control Operators are engaged in the pracƟ ce of trapping nuisance animals outside the regular season. 
Nuisance animals are wildlife that a landowner wants excluded or removed to protect their family or property from 
injury or destrucƟ on by the wildlife. There are two types of licenses: Level I and Level II. Level I operators may only 
trap fur bearers, woodchucks, porcupines, opossum, and coyote outside the season. Level II operators are engaged in 
the commercial pracƟ ce of trapping nuisance animals.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 210:24-b
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Fis 308

ExaminaƟ on
Not required

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
None, but annual licensing is required as 
specifi ed above

Reciprocity
Not specifi ed

AcƟ ve Licenses
251  Level I, Level II, and Nonresident licenses

New Hampshire Fish and Game Department
11 Hazen Drive
Concord New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 868-1095
fax (603) 271-8859
web <www.wildlife.state.nh.us/wildlife/wco.html>
contact Patrick Tate, Wildlife Biologist, 
 Furbearer Project Leader
e-mail wildlife@wildlife.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

Level I license (plus trapper’s license).  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $15.00
Level II license - residents  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $135.00
Level II license - nonresidents  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $400.00
All Wildlife Control Operator licenses expire on June 30 each 
year

Level I license (plus trapper’s license).  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $15.00
Level II license - residents  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $135.00
Level II license - nonresidents  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $400.00
All Wildlife Control Operator licenses expire on June 30 each 
year

Fees

Wildlife Control Operator
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Related Training
No related training

NaƟ onal Wildlife Control Operators AssociaƟ on
<www.nwcoa.com>

New Hampshire Trapper AssociaƟ on
<www.nhtassoc.org>

NaƟ onal Wildlife Control Operators AssociaƟ on
<www.nwcoa.com>

New Hampshire Trapper AssociaƟ on
<www.nhtassoc.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

45-3021.00  Hunters and Trappers45-3021.00  Hunters and Trappers

O*Net Codes

Wildlife Control Operator ((conƟ nued)


