Weighmaster

A Weighmaster is any person who, for hire or otherwise, uses a vehicle scale to weigh or measure any commodity or thing, or issues a statement or memorandum of weight or measure based on results obtained by using a vehicle scale in a commercial transaction, shall be licensed as a public weighmaster.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 438:8I(e)

Administrative Rules: Chapter Agr 1402 & 1403

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least within 30 days of being 18 years of age
- Must be a United States citizen; or a legal resident of the United States
- Submit application and application fee
- Pass written examination administered by the division
- License expiration depends on whether or not the employer employs other weighmasters; contact the Division of Weights and Measures for more information

Examination

Required — must attain a passing score of 70 percent or higher.

Continuing Education

Not required

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

943

Related Training

No related training

Regulatory Agency

Division of Weights and Measures

New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food 25 Capitol Street , PO Box 2042 Concord, New Hampshire 03302-2042

phone (603) 271-3700 fax (603) 271-1109

web <www.agriculture.nh.gov/divisions/weights-measures/

weighmaster.htm/>
contact Cheryl Ayer, Director
e-mail nhwm@agr.nh.gov

Fees

| Examination fee |
|--|
| Re-examination fee |
| Initial license fee Call for information |
| Biennial renewal |

O*Net Codes

43-5111.00 Weighers, Measurers, Checkers, and Samplers, Recordkeeping

Additional Information Sources

The National Conference on Weights and Measures (NCWM) < www.ncwm.com/>

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Office of Weights and Measures (OWM)
<www.nist.gov/pml/weights-and-measures>