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Veterinarians diagnose, treat, correct, change, relieve, or prevent animal disease, lameness, deformity, defect, injury, 
or other physical or mental condiƟ ons. They may prescribe or administer drugs, medicine, biologic, apparatus, 
applicaƟ on, anestheƟ c, or other therapeuƟ c or diagnosƟ c substance or technique, or use manual or mechanical 
procedures for tesƟ ng for pregnancy, for correcƟ ng sterility or inferƟ lity, or provide advice or recommendaƟ ons 
regarding veterinary surgery, obstetrics, denƟ stry, and all other branches or specialƟ es of veterinary medicine. 
Includes the pracƟ ce of acupuncture on animals.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 332-B
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Vet 100 - 700

Licensure Requirements
• Must be at least 18 years of age

• Must be of good professional character

• A graduate of an accredited veterinary 
school or the holder of an EducaƟ onal 
Commission for Foreign Veterinary 
Graduates (ECFVG) cerƟ fi cate or Program 
for the Assessment of Veterinary 
Equivalence (PAVE) cerƟ fi cate

• Passing scores on the NaƟ onal 
Board examinaƟ on and the Clinical 
Competency Test or the North American 
Veterinary licensing exam

• Two leƩ ers of recommendaƟ on sent 
directly to the Board from pracƟ cing 
veterinarians or veterinary professors 
who have detailed knowledge of the 
applicant’s pracƟ ce in the last fi ve years. 

ExaminaƟ on
WriƩ en examinaƟ ons required — state and 
naƟ onal boards

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
• 24 hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on are 

required biennially. New graduates 
within 12 months of applicaƟ on require 
12 hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on.

Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed, but examinaƟ on is sƟ ll required. 
The Board may issue a license without 
examinaƟ on to an applicant under 
condiƟ ons described in RSA 332-B:11.

AcƟ ve Licenses
Approximately 1,000 licensed Veterinarians

Related Training
Veterinary Medicine; Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical Sciences 

Board of Veterinary Medicine 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-9369
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/veterinary-medicine/>
contact Kim Lavoie, AdministraƟ ve Secretary
e-mail vetboard@oplc.nh.gov

Board of Veterinary Medicine 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-9369
fax (603) 271-6702fax
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/veterinary-medicine/>
contact Kim Lavoie, AdministraƟ ve Secretarycontact
e-mail vetboard@oplc.nh.gove-mail

Regulatory Agency

American Veterinary Medical AssociaƟ on
<www.avma.org>

NaƟ onal Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
<www.nbvme.org>

American AssociaƟ on of Veterinary State Boards
<www.aavsb.org>
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AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

WriƩ en examinaƟ on  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$175.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$300.00
Late fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00

WriƩ en examinaƟ on  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$175.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$300.00
Late fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00

Fees

29-1131.00 Veterinarians 29-1131.00 Veterinarians 

O*Net Codes

Veterinarian


