Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Teachers instruct pupils in public, charter, or private schools at the elementary, middle, intermediate, junior high,

or secondary level. At the elementary level, teach basic academic, social, and other formative skills. At other levels,
teachers instruct students in one or more subjects, such as English, Mathematics, Science or Social Studies, including
teachers of Career and Technical Education. Some teachers instruct adults or out-of-school youth in basic education,
high school equivalency, or English as a second language.

Legislation Regulatory Agency

Statute: NH RSA 186

Administrative Rules: Chapter Ed 500 e el el

Division of Educator Support and Higher Education
New Hampshire Department of Education

Certification Requirements 101 Pleasant Street

* Qualify through one of the available Concord, New Hampshire 03301
Alternative Pathways for licensure described
on NH Department of Education website. phone (603) 271-2409

fax (603) 271-4134

web <www.education.nh.gov/certification/>
contact Administrator

e-mail cert.info@doe.nh.gov

There are multiple levels of credentials, each
with varying requirements:
¢ Intern Authorization

° Have met the requirements for a
Statement of Eligibility

° Currently be employed in the field of education in a New Hampshire public or non-public school

° |Intern authorizations are granted for the duration of the individualized professional development plan or the
site-based certification plan

° Educators who hold a valid intern authorization receive a beginning educator license after the Bureau approves
the required report of completion under the individualized professional development plan

* Beginning Educator License
° Beginning educator licenses are issued for an initial period of three years

° Upon completion of three years of full-time educator experience while maintaining a valid credential, a
beginning educator is qualified for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be
“effective” or better under the local supervision and evaluation system for at least two consecutive years.

¢ Experienced Educator License

° Upon completion of three years of full-time educator experience while maintaining a valid credential, a
beginning educator is qualified for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be
“effective” or better under the local supervision and evaluation system for at least two consecutive years.

° An experienced educator credential shall be issued for three years

Examination

Applicants may be required to take the Praxis test or Pearson test and pass with the minimum qualifying score
for New Hampshire. For more information please go to <ets.org/praxis/nh/>, <nh.nesinc.com/Home.aspx> and
<education.nh.gov/certification/documents/edtestinginfo.pdf>.
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Teacher (continued)

Continuing Education Fees

Staff development activities totaling 45
Professional Education continuing education
units and 30 continuing education units

per endorsement during the three-year » )
licensure period. Ad(ditional fees vary by pathway for licensure and number of

endorsements applied for. Go to
<www.education.nh.gov/certification/documents/fee_sched.pdf>
Exam fees are set by each testing company.

Three-year licensure . . . . . ... ... ... ...... $130.00
Three-yearrenewal. . . . . .. .. ... ... ..... $130.00

Reciprocity

Permitted in accordance with the NASDTEC
Interstate Contract

Active Licenses O*Net Codes

Not provided 25-2012.00 Kindergarten Teachers,

Except Special Education;

25-2021.00 Elementary School Teachers,
Except Special Education;

Related Training

Teacher Education and Professional
Development, Specific Levels and Methods;

Teacher Education and Professional 25-2022.00  Middle SCh9°| Teachers, . .
Development, Specific Subject Areas; Except Special and Vocational Education;
Special Education and Teaching; Teaching 25-2023.00 Career/Technical Education Teachers,
English as a Second or Foreign Language Middle Schools;

25-2031.00 Secondary School Teachers,
Except Special and Career/Technical Education;

25-2032.00 Career/Technical Education Teachers,
Secondary Schools;

25-3011.00  Adult Basic and Secondary Education
and Literacy Teachers and Instructors

Additional Information Sources

National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education
and Certification (NASDTEC)
<www.nasdtec.org>
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