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A service technician installs, services, repairs, cerƟ fi es, recondiƟ ons, tests, or calibrates a commercial weighing 
or measuring device. Such weighing or measuring devices are those that are commercially used or employed in 
establishing the size, quanƟ ty, extent, area, or measurement of quanƟ Ɵ es, things, produce, or arƟ cles for distribuƟ on 
or consumpƟ on that are purchased, off ered or submiƩ ed for sale, hire, or award, or used in compuƟ ng any basic 
charge or payment for services rendered on the basis of weight or measure. The term includes any accessory aƩ ached 
to or used in connecƟ on with a commercial weighing or measuring device when such accessory is so designed or 
installed that its operaƟ on aff ects, or could aff ect, the accuracy of the device.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 438:8I(d) & RSA 438:14-a 
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Agr 1404 and 
1405

RegistraƟ on Requirements

• Submit applicaƟ on and registraƟ on fee

• Applicants must indicate on the applicaƟon form the device category or categories for which the applicant
desires to be registered to work. Device categories for registraƟon purposes are as follows:

Category A:    Scales with a capacity of 30 pounds or less, except precision or jewelers scales
Category B:  Scales with a capacity greater than 30 pounds up to and including 300 pounds
Category C:  Scales with a capacity greater than 300 pounds up to and including 3,000 pounds
Category D:  Scales with a capacity greater than 3,000 pounds up to and including 20,000 pounds,

 except vehicle scales
Category E:    Scales with a capacity greather than 20,000 pounds, except vehicle scales
Category F:  Vehicle scales
Category G:    AnalyƟcal balances (precision scales or jewelers scales)
Category H:  Retail motor fuel dispensers, except LP gas and natural gas dispensers
Category I:  LP gas retail motor fuel dispensers
Category J: Natural gas retail motor fuel dispensers
Category K:  Vehicle tank meters, except LP gas and natural gas meters
Category L:  Bulk storage meters
Category M:  LP gas vehicle tank meters
Category N:  Taxi meters
Category O:  Linear and cordage measure
Category P:  Farm bulk milk tanks
Category Q:  Bulk motor oil meters
Category R:    LiŌ  truck on-board weighing systems, including refuse or recyclable materials collecƟon trucks
Category S:    Timing devices

Division of Weights and Measures
New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food 
25 Capitol Street, PO Box 2042
Concord, New Hampshire 03302-2042

phone (603) 271-3700 
fax  (603) 271-1109 
web <www.agriculture.nh.gov/divisions/weights-measures/ 

service-technicians.htm>
contact Cheryl Ayer, Director
e-mail nhwm@agr.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

Service Technician

• Must be at least within 30 days of being 
18 years of age

• Must be a United States citizen or a legal
resident of the United States
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• Each applicant must have a current ediƟ on of NIST Handbook 44, NIST ExaminaƟ on Procedure Outlines (EPOs), and
a current copy of the department’s weights and measures rules in his/her possession before the department issues
a cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on

• Applicants must possess or have available test equipment to adequately test devices for which a registraƟ on is to
be issued; all test equipment must meet specifi caƟ ons as outlined in the applicable NIST Handbooks

• RegistraƟ on expiraƟ on:

1. The expiraƟ on date for an iniƟ al cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on is determined by:

a. If the applicant’s employer employs other registered service technicians, the applicant’s license expires at
the same Ɵ me as the employer’s other registered service technicians

b. If the applicant’s employer does not employ other registered service technicians, the applicant’s license
expires at the end of the quarter with the fewest number of registered service technicians

2. An original cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on may be issued for a period of not less than three months and not more
than 15 months and will be charged a prorated fee, based on the iniƟ al registraƟ on period

3. AŌ er the iniƟ al registraƟ on period, the cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on expires annually

ExaminaƟ on
A separate examinaƟon is required for each 
device category in which the service technician 
desires to be registered. Applicant must aƩain a 
passing score of 70 percent or higher. Registered 
service technicians must take a wriƩen 
examinaƟon every six years.

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Registered service technicians must obtain a 
current ediƟ on of NIST Handbook 44 and any 
updated EPOs in December of each year

AcƟ ve Licenses
217

Reciprocity
Not permiƩ ed

Related Training
Precision Systems Maintenance and 
Repair Technologies

The NaƟ onal Conference on Weights and Measures (NCWM)
<www.ncwm.com/>

NaƟ onal InsƟ tute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Offi  ce of Weights and Measures (OWM)
<www.nist.gov/pml/weights-and-measures>

The NaƟ onal Conference on Weights and Measures (NCWM)
<www.ncwm.com/>

NaƟ onal InsƟ tute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Offi  ce of Weights and Measures (OWM)
<www.nist.gov/pml/weights-and-measures<www.nist.gov/pml/<www.nist.gov/pml/ >

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

ExaminaƟ on fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $20.00
Re-exam fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $20.00 
IniƟ al cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on .  .  .  .  .  .  . Call for informaƟ on
Renewal fee for cerƟ fi cate of registraƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $36.00
Renewal fee for each device category   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $12.00

Fees

49-9069.00  Precision Instrument and 
Equipment Repairers, All Other

49-9069.00  Precision Instrument and
Equipment Repairers, All Other

O*Net Codes

Service Technician (conƟ nued)




