Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Speech-Language Assistant

Assist speech-language pathologists in screening, evaluating, diagnosing, and treating disorders of communication.
Assist in identifying and treating individuals who have communication disorders. This may include disorders of
speech,articulation, fluency, voice, verbal and written language, auditory comprehension, cognition communication
and swallowing disorders. Speech-language assistants do not act independently, and must work under the direction
and supervision of a licensed speech-language pathologist.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-F and 328-F
Administrati ve Rules: Chapter Ahp 100-300
and Spe 100-600

Certification Requirements

* Associate’s degree or higher
in speech-language pathology,
communications sciences and
disorders, or communications disorders
from a program accredited by the
Council on Academic Accreditation in
Speech-Language Pathology or other
organization approved by the Board

* Be of good professional character

* Speech-language assistants must
be directed and supervised by a
New Hampshire licensed Speech-
Language Pathologist

* Military experience shall not be
considered when determining whether
an applicant meets the educational
requirements for licensure

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Completion of 12 hours of professional
education is required biennially for
certifcate renewal

Reciprocity
Not permitted

Active Licenses
165

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Speech-Language Pathology Governing Board
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

121 South Fruit Street, Suite 303

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-8389

fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/allied-health/>
contact Billie Jo Richardson

e-mail billie.richardson@oplc.nh.gov

Fees
ApplicationFee . . . . . . . .. ... ... ... $20.00
Initial certificate. . . . . . . . . . .. ... $55.00
Biennialrenewal . . . . . ... ... .. ... .. .... $55.00
Certificate reinstatement . . . . . .. ... .. .. .. $110.00

Licenses expire on December 31 or each odd-numbered year

O*Net Codes

29-1127.00 Speech-Language Pathologists

Additional Information Sources

National Council of State Boards of Examiners
Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
<www.ncsb.info>

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

<www.asha.org>

Related Training
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services, All Other

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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