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Provide assistance to mentally or emoƟ onally disturbed paƟ ents, collaboraƟ ng with the psychiatric team in the 
diagnosis and treatment plan. Help paƟ ents to respond construcƟ vely to treatment and assist in adjustment leading 
to and following discharge. Interpret treatment to paƟ ent’s family and help to reduce fear and other aƫ  tudes 
obstrucƟ ng acceptance of care and treatment. Serve as a link between paƟ ent, psychiatric agency, and community.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 330-A:18
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Mhp 100 - 
500

Licensure Requirements
• Two-year Master’s degree or Doctoral 

degree in social work from a school 
approved by the Council on Social Work 
EducaƟ on

• Two years or 3,000 hours of post-
master’s, supervised, paid clinical 
experience and 100 hours of supervision 
(one hour per week of individual face-to-
face supervision)

• Pass the AssociaƟ on of Social Work 
Boards (ASWB) exam (clinical level)

• Must complete a criminal background 
check

ExaminaƟ on
WriƩ en examinaƟ ons, both clinical level 
ASWB exam

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Forty hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on credits 
are required every two years, plus 40 hours 
of collaboraƟ on per year

Reciprocity
While the Board does not off er reciprocity 
licenses, a license can be obtained through 
“portability,” or Fast Track Licensing, 
allowing someone licensed in another state 
for fi ve or more years to obtain a license in 
New Hampshire.

AcƟ ve Licenses
2,603

Related Training
Clinical/Medical Social Work; Social Work

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health PracƟ ce 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2702
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/mental-health/>
contact Board Administrator 
e-mail bdmhp@oplc.nh.gov

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health PracƟ ce 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2702
fax (603) 271-6702fax
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/mental-health/>
contact Board Administrator contact
e-mail bdmhp@oplc.nh.gove-mail

Regulatory Agency

Council on Social Work EducaƟ on
<www.cswe.org>

AssociaƟ on of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
<www.aswb.org>

Council on Social Work EducaƟ on
<www.cswe.org>

AssociaƟ on of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
<www.aswb.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources
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Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $270.00
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License reinstatement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $300.00
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Fees

21-1023.00  Mental Health and Substance 
 Abuse Social Workers
21-1023.00  Mental Health and Substance 
 Abuse Social Workers

O*Net Codes

Social Worker, Independent Clinical


