Securities Salesperson

Buy and sell stocks and bonds for individuals and organizations as representatives of stock brokerage firms, applying knowledge of securities, market conditions, government regulations, and financial circumstances of customers. Give information and advice regarding stocks, bonds, market conditions, and history and prospects of various corporations to prospective customers, based on interpretation of data from securities reports, financial periodicals, and stock-quotation-viewer screen, and persuade customers to buy or sell specific securities according to their financial needs. Record and transmit buy or sell orders to trading division in accordance with customer's wishes. Calculate and record cost of transaction for billing purposes, using quotations received during transmittal of order. Develop portfolio (list) of selected investments for customer.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 421-B

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be of good moral character
- Any misdemeanor felony may be grounds for denial
- Complete and pass examination
- Securities salespersons must be appointed by and submit a complete Form U-4 and a fee of \$130 through a NH licensed dealer to the Web CRD/ IARD (Central Registration Depository/ Investment Adviser Registration Depository)
- Required documents are available on the Secretary of State's web site at: http://sos.nh.gov

Examination

Written examination required: Series 63 or 66 Uniform State and Securities Law examination conducted by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)

Continuing Education

As required by FINRA

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

120,339

Related Training

Investments and Securities; Financial Planning and Services

Regulatory Agency

Bureau of Securities Regulation

New Hampshire Department of State State House, Room 204 Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-1463 *fax* (603) 271-7933

web <https://sos.nh.gov/corporation-ucc-securities>

contact Kevin B. Moquin, Senior Staff Attorney

e-mail kevin.moquin@sos.state.nh.us

Fees

Broker Dealer
Initial license fee
Application fee
Annual renewal fee \$250.00
Agents
Initial license fee
Application fee
Annual renewal fee
All licenses expire annually on December 31

O*Net Codes

41-3031.01 Sales Agents, Securities and Commodities

Additional Information Sources

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority www.finra.org

US Securities and Exchange Commission <www.sec.gov>