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CerƟ fi caƟ on Requirements
• Qualify through one of the available 

AlternaƟ ve Pathways for licensure described 
on NH Department of EducaƟ on webpage.

• Have completed any of the State Board of 
EducaƟ on approved Doctoral, cerƟ fi cate 
of advanced graduate study/specialist, 
or Master’s level program in school 
psychology; or

• Meet both of the following qualifi caƟ ons:

1. CompleƟ on of at least 60 semester hours of graduate study culminaƟ ng in at least a Master’s degree, of which 
at least 54 hours are exclusive of credit for the supervised internship experience; and 

2. Experience in a supervised internship in a general school seƫ  ng for 1,200 clock hours, full-Ɵ me over one year or 
half-Ɵ me over two consecuƟ ve years. If addiƟ onal experiences are provided in mental health clinics, psychiatric 
hospitals, and other insƟ tuƟ ons for children, such experiences shall not replace the supervised internship in a 
general school seƫ  ng for more than 600 of the 1,200 hours.

There are mulƟ ple levels of credenƟ als, each with varying requirements:

• Intern AuthorizaƟ on

 º Have met the requirements for a Statement of Eligibility

 º Currently be employed in the fi eld of educaƟ on in a New Hampshire public or non-public school

 º Intern authorizaƟ ons are granted for the duraƟ on of the individualized professional development plan 

 º Educators who hold a valid intern authorizaƟ on receive a beginning educator license aŌ er the Bureau approves 
the required report of compleƟ on under the individualized professional development plan 

• Beginning Educator License

 º Beginning educator licenses are issued for an iniƟ al period of three years

 º Upon compleƟ on of three years of full-Ɵ me educator experience while maintaining a valid credenƟ al, a 
beginning educator is qualifi ed for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be 
“eff ecƟ ve” or beƩ er under the local supervision and evaluaƟ on system for at least two consecuƟ ve years.

School Psychologists provide psychological services to students. They help children and youth succeed academically, 
socially, and emoƟ onally. They collaborate with educators, parents, and other professionals to create safe, healthy, 
and supporƟ ve learning environments for all students that strengthen connecƟ ons between home and school.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 186
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Ed 500

Bureau of CredenƟ aling
Division of Educator Support and Higher EducaƟ on
New Hampshire Department of EducaƟ on
101 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301
 
phone (603) 271-2409
fax (603) 271-4134
web <www.education.nh.gov/certifi cation/>
contact Administrator
e-mail cert.info@doe.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

School Psychologist
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• Experienced Educator License

 º Upon compleƟ on of three years of full-Ɵ me educator experience while maintaining a valid credenƟ al, a 
beginning educator is qualifi ed for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be 
“eff ecƟ ve” or beƩ er under the local supervision and evaluaƟ on system for at least two consecuƟ ve years.

 º An experienced educator credenƟ al shall be issued for three years

ExaminaƟ on
Not required

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on

Staff  development acƟ viƟ es totaling 45 
Professional EducaƟ on conƟ nuing educaƟ on 
units and 30 conƟ nuing educaƟ on units per 
endorsement during the three-year licensure 
period.

Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed in accordance with the 
NASDTEC Interstate Contract

AcƟ ve Licenses
Not provided

Related Training
School Psychology; Clinical Child 
Psychology

NaƟ onal AssociaƟ on of State Directors of Teacher EducaƟ on 
and CerƟ fi caƟ on (NASDTEC)
<www.nasdtec.org>

NaƟ onal AssociaƟ on of School Psychologists
<www.nasponline.org>

New Hampshire AssociaƟ on of School Psychologists
<www.nhaspweb.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

Three-year licensure  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $130.00
Three-year renewal.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $130.00

Additional fees vary by pathway for licensure and number of 
endorsements applied for. Go to 
<www.education.nh.gov/certifi cation/documents/fee_sched.pdf>
Exam fees are set by each testing company.

Fees

19-3031.01  School Psychologists19-3031.01  School Psychologists

O*Net Codes

School Psychologist (conƟ nued)


