Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Respiratory Care Practitioner

Respiratory care is the treatment, management, diagnostic testing and evaluation of responses to respiratory

or medical treatment and care of individuals or groups of individuals either having deficiencies or abnormalities

of the cardiopulmonary system or requiring support of the cardiopulmonary system. Respiratory care is given in
accordance with the prescription of a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant. Respiratory care includes the
implementation of respiratory care strategies and modalities, and the administration of pharmacological, diagnostic,
and therapeutic agents necessary to implement a treatment, disease or injury prevention, rehabilitative or diagnostic
regimen. Respiratory care includes, but is not limited to: initiating emergency procedures; providing health counseling
and teaching; assembly, repair, testing and maintenance of respiratory equipment; and those respiratory care activities
that require a substantial amount of scientific knowledge or technical skill.

Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 326-E and 328-F
Administrative Rules: Chapter Resp 100 -
300 and Ahp 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements

* Good professional character

* Complete accredited respiratory care
education program of at least an
Associate’s degree

* Pass either the registered respiratory
therapist examination administered in
English by National Board for Respiratory
Care (NBRC) or the certified respiratory
therapist examination administered in
English by NBRC

* Military experience shall not be
considered when determining whether
an applicant meets the educational
requirements for licensure.

* Must complete a criminal background
check

Examination

Written examination required — National

Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC)

Continuing Education

24 hours of continuing education required
every two years

Reciprocity
Not permitted

Active Licenses
643

Related Training
Respiratory Care Therapy/Therapist

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Respiratory Care Practitioners’
Governing Board

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 303

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-8389

fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/allied-health/>
contact Billie Jo Richardson

e-mail billie.richardson@oplc.nh.gov

Fees
Application . . . . .. ... $60.00
Initial licensurefee . . . . . . . .. ... ... .. ... $110.00
Examination. . . . . ... ... Lo contact NBRC
Biennialrenewal . . . . . ... ... .. ... .. ... $110.00
License reinstatement . . . . . . . ... ... ... .. $220.00

Licenses expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year

O*Net Codes

29-1126.00 Respiratory Therapists

Additional Information Sources

National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC)
<www.nbrc.org>

Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education
Programs (CAAHEP)
<www.caahep.org>

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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