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CerƟficaƟon/Licensure Requirements
NOTE: The requirements listed below are based 
on administraƟve rules effecƟve January 1, 
2015. All requirements are subject to change.

ApprenƟ ce Appraiser

• Submit applicaƟ on and applicaƟ on fee

• Complete a minimum of 75 hours of 
qualifying

 
coursework within the

 
five year 

period prior to the date of submission
 
of 

applicaƟon. A specific list of approved
 courses can be found in Rab 302.9(d)

• All qualifying educaƟ on must be taken in a
classroom seƫ  ng

• Must take an ApprenƟ ce Trainee course

• Supervisor must take a Supervisor course

• Must be supervised by a New Hampshire
cerƟfied appraiser in good standing for the

 preceding three years in any jurisdicƟon in
 which he or she holds cerƟficaƟon, with a

 minimum of three years as a certified 
appraiser

 
with whom the apprenƟce may 

gain experience
 
hours

• An affi  davit signed by the apprenƟ ce’s
supervisor

• The apprenƟ ce must maintain an on-going 
log of experience hours which must be 
signed by the apprenƟce’s supervisor on a 
monthly basis

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinƟ ng

Licensed ResidenƟ al Appraiser

• Submit applicaƟ on and applicaƟ on fee

• Complete a minimum of 150 hours of qualifying coursework, over half of which was obtained within the last ten
 years. A specific list of approved courses can be found in Rab 302.9 (f)

Appraise improved or unimproved real property to determine value for purchase, sale, investment, mortgage, or loan 
purposes. Develop a wriƩ en appraisal, giving an opinion of the value of a property by applying knowledge of relevant 
market informaƟ on (locaƟ on, depreciaƟ on, value of similar property, income potenƟ al, etc.). There are four classes: 
ApprenƟ ce Appraiser; Licensed ResidenƟ al Appraiser; CerƟ fi ed ResidenƟ al Appraiser, and CerƟ fi ed General Appraiser.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 310-B
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Rab 100 - 500

New Hampshire Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 201
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-2412

phone  (603) 271-2219
fax (603) 271-7928
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/real-estate-appraisers.htm>
contact Dawn Couture, Supervisor 
e-mail dawn.couture@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

ApplicaƟ on fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$150.00
CerƟ fi cate/License fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$400.00 
ApprenƟ ce fee (renewable annually)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$150.00
Renewal fee (renewable biennially) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$250.00
Late Renewal fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00

Fees

Real Estate Appraiser

The Appraisal FoundaƟ on
<www.appraisalfoundation.org>

The Appraisal SubcommiƩ ee
<https://refermyappraisalcomplaint.asc.gov>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

13-2021.00 Appraisers, Real Estate13-2021.00 Appraisers, Real Estate

O*Net Codes
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• 2,000 hours of work experience obtained in no less than 18 months, with at least 25 percent of the experience
requirement met within the three years prior to applicaƟ on submission

• In addiƟon to the above coursework, complete 30 semester hours of college-level  educaƟon or aƩain an 
Associate’s degree

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board

• Pass examinaƟ on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinƟ ng

• All qualifying educaƟ on must be taken in a classroom seƫ  ng

CerƟ fi ed ResidenƟ al Appraiser

• Submit applicaƟ on and applicaƟ on fee

• Postsecondary educaƟ on of a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university

• In addiƟ on to the degree, complete a minimum of 200 hours of qualifying coursework in a classroom seƫ  ng, over
half of which was obtained within the last ten years. Approved courses can be found in Rab 302.09 (g).

• 2,500 hours of work experience obtained in no less than 24 months, with at least 25 percent of the experience
requirement met within the three years prior to applicaƟ on submission.

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board

• Pass examinaƟ on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinƟ ng

CerƟ fi ed General Appraiser

• Submit applicaƟ on and applicaƟ on fee

• Postsecondary educaƟ on of a Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university

• In addiƟ on to the degree, complete a minimum of 300 hours of qualifying coursework. A specifi c list of approved
courses can be found in Rab 302.09 (h)

• All qualifying educaƟ on must be taken in a classroom seƫ  ng and at least 50 percent shall be obtained within the
last ten years

• 3,000 hours of work experience, which must include at least 1,500 hours of non-residenƟ al appraisal work;
experience must be obtained in no less than 30 months

• Board review of three appraisals, selected by the Board

• Pass examinaƟ on

• Submit a notarized criminal history record release form for fi ngerprinƟ ng

ExaminaƟ on
Required, aŌ er compleƟ ng iniƟ al applicaƟ on and 
educaƟ onal and experience requirements are met. 
TesƟ ng is held every week.

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
All Appraisers must have a total of 28 hours every 
two years (14 per year); at least a total of 14 hours 
must be in a classroom seƫ  ng

Reciprocity
An applicant who is licensed or cerƟfied under the laws of 
another state and whose license or cerƟficate is in good 
standing may obtain a license or cerƟficaƟ on as a licensed 
or cerƟfied real estate appraiser in New Hampshire.

AcƟve Licenses: 715

Related Training: Real Estate

Real Estate Appraiser (conƟ nued)




