Private Investigator (Detective)

Private Investigators are persons engaged in conducting private investigations. These activities can include investigating unsolved crime or insurance claims or matters for attorneys in anticipation of civil litigation. Other tasks may be related to surveillance, locating missing persons, or finding lost, concealed, or stolen property.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 106-F

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 2200

Licensure Requirements

- Must be a resident of the United States
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Have no record of felony convictions of any type or conviction of a misdemeanor associated with theft, honesty, fraud, use or sale of controlled substances, misdemeanor crimes of violence that in the judgment of the Commissioner of Safety would cast doubt on the applicant's

Regulatory Agency

Permits and Licensing Unit

New Hampshire State Police 33 Hazen Drive, Room 106 Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone (603) 223-3873 fax (603) 271-0306

web https://www.nhsp.dos.nh.gov/our-services/justice-

information-bureau/permits-and-licensing>

contact Lt. Victor G. Muzzey

e-mail permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov

future good behavior, domestic violence, or abuse of any type, or an active domestic violence protective order in New Hampshire or any other jurisdiction in the United States, its possessions, or territories.

- Except for employees, possess:
 - A minimum of four years experience as a full-time law enforcement officer with a federal, state, county, college
 or university, or municipal police department, director of security or senior officer of a company or corporation,
 or licensed security service, full-time adjuster, risk manager, or claims investigator for an insurance carrier or
 adjusting company; or
 - 2. An associate of science degree or bachelor of science degree in criminal justice or fire service from an accredited college or university, certification from the American Society for Industrial Security as a certified professional investigator, or certification from the National Association of Legal Investigators as a certified legal investigator and employment as a full-time investigator for a private investigative agency for at least two years; or
 - 3. A minimum of four years employment as a full-time investigator for a licensed private investigator or private investigative agency; or
 - 4. A minimum of four years experience as a full-time firefighter and certification by the International Association of Arson Investigators; or
 - 5. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in security operations, and two years experience providing such services; or
 - 6. Certification by the American Society for Industrial Security in executive protection, and two years experience providing such services

Private Investigator (Detective) (continued)

- File a surety bond for \$50,000
- · Two sets of fingerprints required for armed private detective applicants
- Firearms qualification required for armed private investigators
- Provide documentation of qualifications
- Submit application in person

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Armed private detectives are required to meet minimum requirements in the use of firearms at least once per year including four hours of instruction in firearm techniques and safety. The Commissioner of Safety may adopt, pursuant to RSA 541-A, certain initial and continuing education requirements for licensed security guards, private investigators, and bail recovery agents, including but not limited to the statutory and case laws on the use of force, the laws of arrest by non-law enforcement personnel, and other issues relative to their respective occupations after consultation with the advisory board, and may certify individuals or entities including professional associations and employees of agencies deemed qualified to provide such training or education to licensees.

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

Self-employed: 114 Agency employees: 103

Related Training

Criminal Justice/ Police Science; Securities Services Administration/Management

Fees

| Private individual (biennial license) |
|---|
| Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police |
| Criminal Record Check-Including fingerprints \$48.25 |
| Background investigation fee (in addition to above) \$10.00 |
| Agency employing more than one person |
| (biennial license) |
| Agency employee license fee |
| Duplicate |
| |

O*Net Codes

33-9021.00 Private Detectives and Investigators

Additional Information Sources

Not provided