Plumber, Journeyman

Plumbers assemble, install, and repair in buildings the pipes, fittings, fixtures and other apparatus of water and drainage systems for bringing in the water supply and removing liquid and water carried wastes, according to specifications and plumbing codes. Plumbing applies to pipes within the foundation wall of the building or within one length of pipe from the building. A Journeyman Plumber customarily performs the work of installing plumbing and drainage under the direction of a Master Plumber.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 153:27 through 153:38 Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-Mec 100-500

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must have completed a four-year apprenticeship in plumbing (8,000 hours) and received a certificate of completion from the organization conducting the program; or
- Demonstrate proof of plumbing licensure from another state; and
- Upon completion of application and payment of fee, be entitled to examination, and if found qualified by the majority of the Board members, be licensed as a Journeyman Plumber

Examination

Written examination required

Continuing Education

A minimum of three hours per year of continuing education required for license renewal, totaling six hours of specified training for each two-year licensing cycle

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

815

Related Training

Plumbing Technology/Plumber

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Mechanical Safety and Licensing Board

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152

web https://www.oplc.nh.gov/mechanical-safety-and-

licensing-board>

contact Christine Horne

e-mail christine.m.horne@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

Initial license	\$190.00
Biennial renewal	\$180.00
Late fees	month

O*Net Codes

47-2152.02 Plumbers

Additional Information Sources

International Code Council (ICC) <www.iccsafe.org>