Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Physical Therapist Assistant

Working under the direction of a Physical Therapist, assist in providing treatments to help relieve patients’ pain
and develop or restore their physical health. Help persons with muscle, nerve, joint and bone diseases or injuries
to overcome their disabilities. Their patients include accident victims, children with handicaps, and disabled older
persons. Test and measure people’s physical abilities and plan treatment programs to help them.

Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 328-A and 328-F
Administrative Rules: Chapter Ahp 100-300
and Phy 100-500

Licensure Requirements
* Must be of good moral character

* Must graduate from a professional
physical therapy education program
accredited by the Commission
on the Accreditation of Physical
Therapy Education (CAPTE) or by
another Board-approved accrediting
organization

* Must pass national proficiency
examination

* Can practice only under the direction
of a licensed Physical Therapist

* Military experience shall not be
considered when determining whether
an applicant meets the educational
requirements for licensure.

Examination

Written examination required — National
Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE)
Jurisprudence Assessment Module for
New Hampshire

Continuing Education

A minimum of 24 hours of continuing
education is required every two years

Reciprocity

Member of the PT Compact:
http://ptcompact.org/

Active Licenses
601

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Physical Therapy Governing Board
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 303

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-8389

fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/allied-health/>
contact Billie Jo Richardson

e-mail billie.richardson@oplc.nh.gov

Fees
Application . . . . . ... $60.00
Initial licensurefee . . . . . . . . .. ... ... ... .. $110.00
Examination. . . . . . . . .. .. $370.00
Biennialrenewal . . . . . .. . ... ... .. ... ... $110.00
License reinstatement . . . . . . .. ... ... ... .. $220.00

Licenses expire on December 31st of each even-numbered year

O*Net Codes

31-2021.00 Physical Therapist Assistants

Additional Information Sources

Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
<www.fsbpt.org>

American Physical Therapy Association
<www.apta.org>

Related Training
Physical Therapist Assistant

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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