Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Physician Assistant

Provide patient services under direct supervision and responsibility of a doctor of medicine or osteopathy. Elicit
detailed patient histories and do complete physical examinations. Reach tentative diagnosis and order appropriate
laboratory tests. Counsel patient and family on health and disease. Suture minor wounds, assist in surgery, apply

and remove cast and traction apparatus, and perform other therapeutic procedures under supervision of a doctor of
medicine or osteopathy. May have special training in a particular medical specialty. Physician assistants are allowed to
distribute prescription drugs.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 328-D
Administrative Rules: Chapter Med 600

Licensure Requirements

Completion of a statement from the
Registered Supervisory Physician and the
Alternate Registered Supervisory Physician
accepting responsibility

Proof of graduation from a Physician
Assistant program accredited by

the American Medical Association’s
Committee on Allied Health Education
and Accreditation, or the Commission on
Accreditation of Allied Health Education
Programs (CAAHEP) or by its successor

Proof of current certification by the
National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants (NCCPA)

Must work under the supervision of a
licensed physician

Applicants for initial permanent licensure
or endorsement must submit a notarized
criminal history record release form
along with a complete set of fingerprints
taken by a qualified law enforcement
agency or authorized employee of the
New Hampshire Department of Safety

Examination

Written examination required — National
Commission on Certification of Physician
Assistants (NCCPA)

Continuing Education

Continuing Medical Education (CME) as
required by NCCPA to maintain current
national certification and three hours of
continuing education in the area of pain
management and addiction disorder for those
Physician Assistants required to register with
the NH Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
(PDMP)

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Medicine

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 301

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603)271-1203

fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/medicine/>
contact Penny Taylor, Administrator
e-mail penny.taylor@oplc.nh.gov

Fees
License/application. . . . ... ... ... ... .... $115.00
Annualrenewal . . . . . . . ... ... $65.00
Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police
Criminal Record Check-Including fingerprints . . . . . . $48.25

All fees are subject to change

O*Net Codes

29-1071.00  Physician Assistants

Additional Information Sources

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants
<www.nccpa.net>

Reciprocity

No, but license may be issued by endorsement
Active Licenses
926

Related Training

Physician Assistant

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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