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RegistraƟ on Requirements
• Possess good moral character
• Be at least 16 years of age and either have

a high school or equivalent diploma, or be
working to achieve a high school or
equivalent diploma

• Complete and fi le applicaƟ on
• Have 80 hours of on-the-job training and be

registered with the board within 15 days

• Shall not have been convicted of a drug-
related felony

• Must wear a tag idenƟfying them as a
Pharmacy Technician while on duty

• Pharmacist-in-charge shall determine the
duties of the pharmacy technician, and shall
verify and confirm acts, tasks, and functions
undertaken by the pharmacy technician

• AddiƟonal requirements have to be met to 
become a "certified pharmacy technician," 
including a nationally-recognized 
certification exam recognized by the 
New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy

ExaminaƟon
Not required for registered techs; CerƟfied 
techs must pass a naƟonally-recognized exam

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Not required, however, cerƟfied pharmacy 
technicians must complete board-approved 
conƟnuing educaƟon

Pharmacy Technicians assist in performing, under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist, manipulaƟ ve, 
nondiscreƟ onary funcƟ ons associated with the pracƟ ce of pharmacy. They are limited to performing tasks in the 
preparaƟ on of legend drugs and devices and to provide nonjudgmental technical support services. All tasks and 
funcƟ ons undertaken by the pharmacy technician must be verifi ed and confi rmed for correctness, exactness, accuracy, 
and completeness by the pharmacist-in-charge.

LegislaƟ on
Statutes: NH RSA 318:5-a
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Ph 800

Reciprocity
Not permiƩ ed

AcƟ ve Licenses
Registered Pharmacy Techs: 1,879 
CerƟfied Pharmacy Techs: 1,197

Related Training
Pharmacy Technician/Assistant

phone (603) 271-2350
fax (603) 271-2856
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/pharmacy/>
contact Licensing Department
e-mail pharmacy.licensing@oplc.nh.gov 

phone (603) 271-2350
fax (603) 271-2856fax
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/pharmacy/>
contact Licensing Department
e-mail pharmacy.licensing@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

Pharmacy Technician CerƟ fi caƟ on Board
<www.ptcb.org>

New Hampshire Pharmacists AssociaƟ on
<www.nhpharmacists.net>

InsƟ tute for the CerƟ fi caƟ on of Pharmacy Technicians
NaƟ onal Healthcare AssociaƟ on
<www.nhanow.com>

NaƟ onal Pharmacy Technician AssociaƟ on (NPTA)
<www.pharmacytechnician.org>

Pharmacy Technician CerƟ fi caƟ on Board
<www.ptcb.org>

New Hampshire Pharmacists AssociaƟ on
<www.nhpharmacists.net>

InsƟ tute for the CerƟ fi caƟ on of Pharmacy Technicians
NaƟ onal Healthcare AssociaƟ on
<www.nhanow.com>

NaƟ onal Pharmacy Technician AssociaƟ on (NPTA)
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AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

IniƟ al registraƟ on .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $100.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $100.00
IniƟ al registraƟ on .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $100.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $100.00
All registraƟons expire biennially on March 31 of odd-numbered 
years

Fees

29-2052.00  Pharmacy Technicians29-2052.00  Pharmacy Technicians

O*Net Codes

Pharmacy Technician

New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 401
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-2412




