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Licensure Requirements
• Baccalaureate degree from an accredited 

college and

• A Master of Divinity degree, or an equivalent, 
from a school of theology accredited by the 
AssociaƟ on of Theological Schools; and

• A Doctorate in pastoral psychotherapy

• Have been authorized by a denominaƟ on or 
faith group to exercise specifi c leadership and service on its behalf

• Have completed one unit of full-Ɵ me clinical pastoral educaƟ on or its equivalent

• Give evidence of serving at least three years as a clergy person, demonstraƟ ng growing maturity in one’s idenƟ ty 
and role as a professional religious leader

• Complete two years of not less than 1,500 hours per year of supervised experience in pastoral psychotherapy

• Of the 3,000 hours specifi ed above, have performed at least 1,375 hours of clinical pastoral counseling while 
receiving at least 250 hours of interdisciplinary supervision

• Give evidence of having undergone suffi  cient theological and psychotherapeuƟ c invesƟ gaƟ on of one’s own 
intrapsychic and interpersonal processes

• Give evidence of:

1. An understanding of the counseling or psychotherapeuƟ c process

2. An ability to develop the counseling or psychotherapeuƟ c relaƟ onship

3. An ability to perform a leadership role in the context of the religious community

4. An ability to integrate one’s professional role and personal idenƟ ty

• Have aƩ ained the level of Fellow in the American AssociaƟ on of Pastoral Counselors or an equivalent organizaƟ on

• Pass a saƟ sfactory examinaƟ on in pastoral counseling as set and defi ned by the Board

• New Hampshire residency is not required, but must be principally employed in New Hampshire

• Must complete a criminal background check

ExaminaƟ on
WriƩ en and oral examinaƟ on required

Pastoral Psychotherapists are clergy persons with graduate training enabling them to provide psychotherapy, marital, 
and family therapy. Some also off er group therapy and sex therapy.

LegislaƟ on
Statutes: NH RSA 330-A:17
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Mhp 100 - 
500

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health PracƟ ce
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2702
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/mental-health/>
contact Board Administrator 
e-mail bdmhp@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

Pastoral Psychotherapist
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ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Forty hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on credits 
are required every two years, plus 40 hours 
of collaboraƟ on per year

Reciprocity
While the Board does not off er reciprocity 
licenses, a license can be obtained through 
“portability,” or Fast Track Licensing, 
allowing someone licensed in another state 
for fi ve or more years to obtain a license in 
New Hampshire.

AcƟ ve Licenses
12

Related Training
Clinical Pastoral Counseling/ PaƟ ent 
Counseling 

American AssociaƟ on of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC)
<www.aapc.org>

AssociaƟ on of Theological Schools
<www.ats.edu>

American AssociaƟ on of Pastoral Counselors (AAPC)
<www.aapc.org>

AssociaƟ on of Theological Schools
<www.ats.edu>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

License applicaƟ on review .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$150.00
Approved license applicaƟ on fee .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$135.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$270.00
InacƟ ve license (one year) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $67.50
License reinstatement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $300.00

License applicaƟ on review .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$150.00
Approved license applicaƟ on fee .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$135.00
Biennial renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$270.00
InacƟ ve license (one year) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $67.50
License reinstatement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $300.00

Fees

21-1013.00  Marriage and Family Therapists
21-2011.00 Clergy
21-1013.00  Marriage and Family Therapists
21-2011.00 Clergy

O*Net Codes

Pastoral Psychotherapist (conƟ nued)


