Paraeducator

Perform instructional support duties or deliver direct support services to students and parents. Serve in a position for which a teacher or another professional has ultimate responsibility for the design and implementation of educational programs and services.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 186

Administrative Rules: Chapter Ed 500

Certification Requirements

NOTE: The following levels of licensure for paraeducators are considered by the New Hampshire State Board of Education as optional in nature, but may be required by local school districts.

Paraeducator I

 High school diploma or equivalent notarized or official high school transcript in sealed envelope.

Paraeducator II

- High school diploma or equivalent
- Documentation of one of the following:
 - 1. Official college transcript showing an Associate's or higher degree; or
 - 2. Official college transcript showing at least two years of study at an institution of higher education with a minimum 48 college credits; or
 - 3. Passing score on a nationally recognized assessment such as the ParaPro offered by ETS; or
 - 4. Assessment of candidate's strengths and professional development needs form. All competencies must be checked as met with evidence indicated in the assessment column. Activities used as evidence for sections C (2) a-g and C (4) a-i must be at the college level. All documentation of evidence indicating how all competencies have been met must be submitted for review.

Regulatory Agency

Bureau of Credentialing

Division of Educator Support and Higher Education

New Hampshire Department of Education

101 Pleasant Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301-3860

phone (603) 271-2409 *fax* (603) 271-4134

web <www.education.nh.gov/who-we-are/division-of-

educator-support-and-higher-education/bureau-of-

credentialing> contact Administrator

e-mail cert.info@doe.nh.gov

Fees

Three-year licensure .										\$10.00
Three-year renewal										\$10.00

O*Net Codes

25-9041.00 Teacher Assistants

Additional Information Sources

Not provided

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

A minimum of 50 continuing education units are required

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

Not provided

Related Training

Teacher Assistant/Aide