Ophthalmic Dispenser

Design, verify, and deliver to the intended wearer lenses, frames, and other specially fabricated optical devices upon prescription. Activities include prescription analysis and interpretation; taking measurements to determine the size, shape, and specifications of the spectacle lenses, frames, or lens forms best suited to the wearer's needs; preparing and delivering of work orders to laboratory technicians to grind lenses and fabricate eyewear; verifying the quality of finished ophthalmic products; adjusting lenses or frames to the intended wearer's face; delivering ophthalmic products including instruction in hygiene and insertion and removal of contact lenses; and adjustment, replacement, and reproduction of previously prepared products.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 327-A

Administrative Rules: Chapter He-P 6000

Registration Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Submit application and pay appropriate fee

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Completion of eight hours of continuing education during the previous two-year period is required for renewal, with five of those hours obtained through live, didactic courses

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

413

Related Training

Opticianry/Ophthalmic Dispensing Optician

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

Ophthalmic Dispensing Professionals

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-6702

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/board-ophthalmic-dispensing-

professionals/>
contact Customer Service

e-mail customerservice@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

Application											.\$110.00
Biennial renewal .											.\$110.00

O*Net Codes

29-2081.00 Opticians, Dispensing

Additional Information Sources

American Board of Opticianry and National Contact Lens Examiners

<www.abo-ncle.org>