# Nurse, Registered (RN)

Use the principles of biological, physical and behavioral science in assessing and identifying the physical and psychosocial health status of the patient/consumer. Provide for the maintenance of health and the prevention of illness through teaching, counseling and services supportive to the continuance or improvement of health and wellbeing. The professional nurse teaches and directs the nursing care provider in implementing therapeutic plans of care to effectively carry out the nursing regimen and collaborates with the physician, advanced practice registered nurse or dentist in the implementation of the medical regimen.

## Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-B Administrative Rules: Chapter Nur 100 - 800

#### **Licensure Requirements**

- Attestation of good professional character and good physical and mental health
- Ability to read and write the English language
- Be a graduate of an approved registered nursing program or demonstrate comparable education

## **Regulatory Agency**

New Hampshire Board of Nursing Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/new-hampshire-board-nursing>
contact Licensing
e-mail nursing@oplc.nh.gov

- Applicants for initial permanent licensure or endorsement must submit a notarized criminal history record release form along with a complete set of fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency or authorized employee of the New Hampshire Department of Safety
- To continue or re-enter practice, validate 400 hours active-in-practice within four years prior to application
- Foreign educated nurses have very different requirements which are available at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-nursing-forms-and-other-documents

## Examination

Written examination required

## **Continuing Education**

Provide proof of continuing education. Thirty hours of workshops, conferences, lectures, or in-service educational offerings per renewal period designed to enhance nursing knowledge, judgement, and skills

## Reciprocity

The Nurse Licensure Compact allows nurses to have one multistate license, with the ability to practice in both their home state and other party states. You must apply for multi-state license in the state in which you reside. Single-state status occurs with discipline on license, not meeting another compact state's requirement for multistate license and with comparable education licensing or if not a resident of New Hampshire

#### Fees

NCLEX Examination/Pearson Vue Registration	\$200.00
Initial licensure	\$120.00
Endorsement	\$120.00
Reinstatement	\$120.00
Biennial renewal	. \$80.00
Temporary licensure	. \$20.00
Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police	
Criminal Record Check-Including fingerprints	. \$48.25

# Nurse, Registered (RN) (continued)

#### **Active Licenses**

24,995

## **Related Training**

Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse; Adult Health Nurse/Nursing; Pediatric Nurse/Nursing; Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse/Nursing; Public Health/Community Nurse/Nursing; Critical Care Nursing; Nursing Administration; Maternal/Child Health and Neonatal Nurses/Nursing; Nursing Science; Perioperative/operating Room and Surgical Nurse/Nursing; Occupational and Environmental Health Nurse/Nursing; Emergency Room/Trauma Nursing; Clinical Nurse Leader; Geriatric Nurse/Nursing; Women's Health Nurse/ Nursing; Nursing Practice; Palliative Care Nursing; Nursing Education/Nursing Science

## **O\*Net Codes**

29-1141.00

**Registered Nurses** 

## Additional Information Sources

National Council of State Boards of Nursing <www.ncsbn.org>

New Hampshire Nurse's Association <www.nhnurses.org>