# Nursing Assistant, Licensed (LNA)

Perform routine nursing-related services to patients in health care facilities and clinics, under the training or supervision of am advanced practice nurse, a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. Duties of the LNA involve provision of direct care or assistance to care recipients. LNA nursing-related services may include personal care (bathing, grooming, or dressing); elimination; nutrition; positioning and transferring; transporting; and taking vital signs (temperature and blood pressure readings). They may work in hospitals, nursing homes, and in the community.

# Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-B

Administrative Rules: Chapter Nur 100 - 800

## **Licensure Requirements**

- Ability to read and write the English language
- Graduate from a Board-approved nursing assistant education program; or demonstrate comparable nursing educational preparation recognized by the Board
- To continue or re-enter practice, validate 200 hours active-in-practice within two years prior to renewal, reinstatement, or endorsement; or submit successful results of a nursing assistant competency test taken within two years immediately prior to application date
- Applicants for initial permanent licensure or endorsement must submit a notarized criminal history record release form along with a complete set of fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency or authorized employee of the New Hampshire Department of Safety

### **Examination**

Written examination required

## **Continuing Education**

Completion of twenty four (24) contact hours every two years at renewal that enhance knowledge and skills

## Reciprocity

License may be issued by endorsement, there is no compact for LNAs. Requires proof of continuing education hours

# **Regulatory Agency**

## **New Hampshire Board of Nursing**

Office of Professional Licensing and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152

web <www.oplc.nh.gov/new-hampshire-board-nursing>

contact Licensing

e-mail nursing@oplc.nh.gov

### **Fees**

Initial license
Endorsement
Biennial renewal
Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police
Criminal Record Check-Including fingerprints \$48.25

#### O\*Net Codes

31-1014.00 Nursing Assistants

#### **Additional Information Sources**

National Council of State Boards of Nursing <a href="https://www.ncsbn.org">www.ncsbn.org</a>

New Hampshire Nurse's Association <www.nhnurses.org>

#### **Active Licenses**

12,426

## **Related Training**

Nursing Assistant/Aide and Patient Care Assistant/Aide