Nurse, Advanced Practice Registered (APRN)

An Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) is a Registered Nurse (RN) qualified to function independently. May perform physical examinations and diagnostic tests, develop and carry out treatment programs, or counsel patients. APRNs can diagnose, prescribe and treat as providers and may certify in a variety of areas. The categories of APRN recognized in New Hampshire are: Nurse Practitioner (NP), Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA), Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM) and Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) – in Psychiatric/Mental Health only.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-B Administrative Rules: Chapter Nur 100 - 800

Licensure Requirements

- Must have a New Hampshire Registered Nurse license or a compact license from a party state
- Submit written application
- Be a graduate of an accepted program
- Ability to read and write the English language

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Nursing Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/new-hampshire-board-nursing>
contact Licensing
e-mail nursing@oplc.nh.gov

- Submissission of evidence of passing a National certifying exam in the applicant's category/specialty directly from certifying agency
- Applicants for initial permanent licensure or endorsement must submit a notarized criminal history record release form along with a complete set of fingerprints taken by a qualified law enforcement agency or authorized employee of the New Hampshire Department of Safety
- To continue or re-enter practice, validate 400 hours active-in-practice within four years prior to application and complete continuing education

Examination

National certification exam in specific area of expertise is required

Continuing Education

In addition to requirements for a Registered Nurse renewal, 30 additional hours of continuing education specific to the APRN specialty are required for biennial renewal, which must include at least five hours

Application
Combined FBI and New Hampshire State Police
Criminal Record Check-Including fingerprints \$48.25
Biennial renewal (per specialty area
with proof of continuing education)
Biennial renewal completed at the same time as Registered
Nurse license renewal (on birth date for compact RN licenses)

Fees

of coursework in pharmacology. If a United States Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) number specific to New Hampshire is acquired or in possession, the APRN must complete and provide three of the five contact hours in Pharmacology in the topics of Opioid Prescribing, Pain Management, or Substance Abuse Disorder at the time of renewal. APRN's that possess a DEA number for New Hampshire must register and access the Prescription Drug Management Program (PDMP) before prescribing.

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Nurse, Advanced Practice Registered (APRN) (continued)

Active Licenses

3,429

Related Training

Adult Health Nursing; Family Practice Nursing; Maternal, Child Health, and Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing; Critical Care Nursing; Emergency Room/Trauma Nursing; Geriatric Nursing; Women's Health Nursing; Nurse Anesthetist; Nurse Midwife

O*Net Codes

29-1171.00 Nurse Practitioners

Additional Information Sources

National Council of State Boards of Nursing <www.ncsbn.org>

New Hampshire Nurse's Association <www.nhnurses.org>