
New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
127

Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2021

Counsel and aid individuals and families with problems that may arise during or following the recovery from physical 
or mental illness by providing support services designed to help persons understand, accept, and follow medical 
recommendations.

Legislation
Statute: NH RSA 330-A:19
Administrative Rules: Chapter Mhp 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements
• Sixty credit Master’s degree or Doctoral 

degree in clinical mental health 
counseling, including a 700-hour 
practicum or internship appropriate to 
mental health counseling

• Must pass the National Clinical Mental 
Health Counselor exam

• Complete a minimum of two years 
of paid, post-Master’s experience 
in a mental health setting including 
a minimum of 3,000 hours of post-
master’s supervised clinical experience 
and a minimum of 100 hours of face-
to-face supervision

• Must complete a criminal background 
check

Active Licenses
1,167

Related Training
Mental Health Counseling/Counselor

Examination
Written examination required — National 
Clinical Mental Health Counseling exam

Continuing Education
40 hours of continuing education units 
(CEUs) every two years, and 40 hours of 
collaboration every two years

Reciprocity
While the Board does not offer reciprocity licenses, a license can 
be obtained through “portability,” or Fast Track Licensing, allowing 
someone licensed in another state for five or more years to obtain a 
license in New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
7 Eagle Square
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/board-mental-health-practice>
contact Board Administrator
e-mail mentalhealth@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

National Board for Certified Counselors
<www.nbcc.org/certification>

Additional Information Sources

License application review .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $150.00
Approved license application fee . . . . . . . . . . . .  $135.00
Biennial renewal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $270.00
Inactive license (one year) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $67.50
License reinstatement . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $300.00

Fees

21-1014.00  Mental Health Counselors

O*Net Codes

Mental Health Counselor, Clinical
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