Massage Therapist

Massage therapists use visual, kinesthetic, and palpatory skills to assess the body, and may evaluate the client's condition to the extent of determining whether massage is indicated or contraindicated. Massage is the application of a system of structured touch which includes holding, pressure, positioning, or causing movement, by manual means, for the purpose of promoting, maintaining, and restoring the health and well-being of the client. Massage is designed to promote general relaxation, improve movement, relieve somatic and muscular pain or dysfunction, stress and muscle tension, and provide for general health enhancement and the organization, balance, and integration of the body.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 328-B Administrative Rules: Chapter Plc 300

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Submit evidence of being in good mental and physical health
- No conviction of sexually related crime, or crime involving moral turpitude
- Graduation from a massage school with a 750 hour curriculum meeting specific content areas outlined in the Administrative Rules
- Current certification from the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
- Current Adult CPR and First Aid certifications

Examination

Must pass the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) written examination or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)

Continuing Education

At least 12 hours of continuing education in specific content areas are required biennially for renewal

Reciprocity

Permitted if the massage practitioner is currently licensed in another state, and if that state's licensing requirements are substantially equivalent to the requirements of New Hampshire

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Advisory Board of Massage Therapy Office of Professional Licensing and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone(603) 271-2152fax(603) 271-6702web<www.oplc.nh.gov/advisory-board-massage-
therapists>contactCustomer Servicee-mailcustomerservice@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

Application											\$110.00
Biennial renewal									•		\$110.00

O*Net Codes

31-9011.00 Massage Therapists

Additional Information Sources

Massage Practice Exams

Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards Licensing Exam Office <www.fsmtb.org>

Active Licenses

2,003

Related Training

Massage Therapy/Therapeutic Massage; Asian Bodywork Therapy; Somatic Bodywork