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Licensure Requirements
• Federal-covered advisers, those registered 

and regulated by the US SecuriƟ es and 
Exchange Commission, are not subject to 
the investment adviser licensing provisions 
of the State of New Hampshire. Every 
federal covered adviser doing business in 
New Hampshire must fi le a noƟ ce and pay a 
fee prior to conducƟ ng investment adviser 
business in New Hampshire. There is no “de 
minimus” excepƟ on from the noƟ ce fi ling requirement.

• As a state-regulated investment adviser, a fi rm is subject to the investment adviser licensing provisions of the State 
of New Hampshire. Required documents are available on New Hampshire’s Secretary of State’s web site at: hƩ p://
sos.nh.gov/StateIA.aspx

• Investment adviser agents (individuals) must submit a complete Form U-4 and a fee of $130 to the Web CRD/IARD 
(Central RegistraƟ on Depository/Investment Adviser RegistraƟ on Depository)

An Investment Adviser Agent is someone who, for compensaƟ on, advises others either directly or through 
publicaƟ ons, about the value of securiƟ es or other investments, or about the advisability of invesƟ ng in, purchasing 
or selling securiƟ es or other investments. They may, for compensaƟ on and as a part of a regular business, issue or 
promulgate analyses or reports concerning securiƟ es, or other investments. Included are fi nancial planners and others 
who, as part of other fi nancially related services, provide investment advisory services to others for compensaƟ on 
and as part of a business, or who hold themselves out as providing investment advisory services to others for 
compensaƟ on.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 421-B

ExaminaƟ on
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 
(FINRA) Series 65, or Series 66 and 
Series 7 examinaƟ ons

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Not specifi ed

Reciprocity
Not permiƩ ed

AcƟ ve Licenses
2,290 Investment Advisers 
4,429 Investment Adviser Agents

Bureau of SecuriƟ es RegulaƟ on
New Hampshire Department of State
State House, Room 204
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-1463
fax (603) 271-7933
web <www.sos.nh.gov/sec_reg.aspx>
contact Kevin B. Moquin, Senior Staff  AƩ orney 
e-mail kevin.moquin@sos.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

IniƟ al license fee (State-covered) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $200.00
ApplicaƟ on fee (State-covered)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $50.00
License renewal (State-covered)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $200.00
IniƟ al noƟ ce fi ling fee (Federal-covered) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $250.00
Annual noƟ ce fi ling renewal (Federal-covered)   .  .  .  .  $200.00
All licenses expire annually on December 31

IniƟ al license fee (State-covered) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $200.00
ApplicaƟ on fee (State-covered)  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $50.00
License renewal (State-covered)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $200.00
IniƟ al noƟ ce fi ling fee (Federal-covered) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $250.00
Annual noƟ ce fi ling renewal (Federal-covered)   .  .  .  .  $200.00
All licenses expire annually on December 31

Fees

41-3031.00  SecuriƟ es, CommodiƟ es, and 
 Financial Services Sales Agents
13-2052.00 Personal Financial Advisors

41-3031.00  SecuriƟ es, CommodiƟ es, and 
 Financial Services Sales Agents
13-2052.00 Personal Financial Advisors

O*Net Codes

Investment Adviser Agent
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Related Training
Financial Planning and Services; Investments 
and SecuriƟ es

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 
<www.fi nra.org>

US SecuriƟ es and Exchange Commission 
<www.sec.gov>

Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 
<www.fi nra.org>

US SecuriƟ es and Exchange Commission 
<www.sec.gov>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

Investment Adviser Agent (conƟ nued)


