Interpreter for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

A person who provides English-based transliteration, which is conveying information from one mode of English to another; American Sign Language-based interpreting, and/or intermediary interpreting, which means interpreting services rendered by a deaf person for other deaf persons.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 326-I

Administrative Rules: Chapter Int 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must demonstrate adherence to the Code of Professional Conduct Standards (Int 501.03) and the Code of Professional Principles (Int 501.04)
- Pay the appropriate license fee
- Possess minimum standards of performance and training of one of the following pursuant to rules adopted by the Board:
 - 1. Certification by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID),
 - or the New Hampshire Interpreter Classification System program (NHICS)
 - 2. Interpreters licensed or approved in other jurisdictions may submit proof of licensure in another state in which the licensure requirements are equivalent to or greater than those required by this state
 - 3. Applicants not certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. or by the New Hampshire Interpreter Classification System program must complete 30 hours of oral transliterating training in topics specified in Int 301.01
- The following are exempted from licensure:
 - 1. Nonresident interpreters certified by the National Registry of Interpreters of the Deaf (RID) who have completed RID-approved legal training or who hold a legal specialty certificate (RID SC:L) when working in court settings, provided that such interpreter shall be subject to disciplinary proceedings of the board
 - 2. Interpreters for the deaf and hard of hearing working in religious settings
 - 3. Interpreters working in emergency situations where the parties determine that the delay to obtain a licensed interpreter is likely to cause injury or loss
 - 4. Students enrolled in a school or courses in interpreting for the deaf and hard of hearing
 - 5. Interpreters employed by a school district for a K-12 program

Examination

Written and performance examinations required

Regulatory Agency

Office for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation New Hampshire Department of Education 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 20 Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-3471 (Voice/TTY) or 1-800-299-1647

or (603) 463-0728 (video phone)

fax (603) 271-7095

https://www.education.nh.gov/who-we-are/deputy- web

commissioner/bureau-of-vocational-rehabilitation>

contact H. Dee Clanton

e-mail hobert.d.clanton@doe.nh.gov or

licensureboard@doe.nh.gov

Interpreter for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (continued)

Continuing Education

Eight continuing education units every four years as required by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID)

Reciprocity

The Board may waive licensure requirements for an applicant who is licensed by another jurisdiction where the requirements for licensure are greater than or equal to those required in this state

Active Licenses

Not provided

Related Training

American Sign Language (ASL); Sign Language Interpretation and Translation

Fees

Application fee
License fee
License renewal
License restoration
Reinstatement of license fee
Licenses expire on September 1 three years after the date of
issue

O*Net Codes

27-3091.00 Interpreters and Translators

Additional Information Sources

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. www.rid.org