Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Insurance Adjuster

Study insurance claims to see whether clients’ policies cover them for particular losses and determine the amount

of loss suffered. Talk with claimants to try to settle claims and may approve payments to them. Use reports, physical
evidence, and witnesses’ reports to investigate claims. Some workers travel to gather information about claims, while
others work mostly at their desks. Many insurance adjusters specialize in a certain type of claim, such as auto, home,

property damage or loss, or workers’ compensation.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 402-B
Administrative Rules: Chapter Ins 1300

Licensure Requirements
* Must be of good moral character

* Must state age, sex, domicile, line
or lines of insurance for which the
applicant desires a license, and a place
of business of the applicant

Examination

Written examination required.
Examinations are administered for the
Department by Prometric. A separate
examination fee is payable to Prometric.
Exams may not be scheduled until

the registration process is complete.
Registration is electronic and links are
available on the Department’s web site.

Continuing Education

Twenty hours of continuing education are
required for renewal

Reciprocity

Non-residents permitted, as long as
applicant has been engaged in business
for at least six months or is licensed in
their home state

Active Licenses
80,472

Related Training

Insurance

Regulatory Agency

Licensing Division

New Hampshire Insurance Department
21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-0203

fax (603) 271-7029

web <www.nh.gov/insurance/producers/>
contact Joan LaCourse, Licensing Supervisor
e-mail producerquestions@ins.nh.gov

Fees
Resident license . . . . . . . . . . . ... ... ..... $75.00
Biennialrenewal . . . . . ... ... ... .. .. .... $75.00
Property and casualtyexam . . . . .. ... ... .... $65.00
Worker’s compensationexam . . ... ......... $50.00

Licenses expire on the second October 1st after issuance

O*Net Codes

13-1031.00 Insurance Adjuster, Examiners,
and Investigators

Additional Information Sources

Prometric
<www.prometric.com/NewHampshire/insurance>

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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