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Licensure Requirements
• Must be at least 18 years of age
• Have successfully completed high school or 
 its equivalent
• Complete no less than 80 hours of board- 
 approved educaƟ on covering  core   
 components of residenƟ al buildings of four  
 units or less
• Provide proof of passing the board-adopted examinaƟ on required for licensure
• Any person engaged in the design or installaƟ on of airborne radon miƟ gaƟ on devices in New Hampshire shall hold  
 a current cerƟ fi caƟ on from either the NaƟ onal Radon Profi ciency Program off ered by the American AssociaƟ on of  
 Radon ScienƟ sts and Technologists, Inc., or the NaƟ onal Radon Safety Board
• No person shall perform residenƟ al mold assessment services for remuneraƟ on unless that person possesses a  
 valid naƟ onal third party cerƟ fi caƟ on for mold assessment from the American Council for Accredited CerƟ fi caƟ on 

Inspect structures using engineering skills to determine structural soundness and compliance with specifi caƟ ons, 
building codes, and other regulaƟ ons. InspecƟ ons may be general in nature or may be limited to a specifi c area, such 
as electrical systems or plumbing.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 310-A:182-201
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Home 100-
700

ExaminaƟ on
Successfully pass the NaƟ onal Home 
Inspectors examinaƟ on created and 
graded by the ExaminaƟ on Board of 
Professional Home Inspectors 

Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed if the other state’s licensing requirements equal or exceed those of New Hampshire as determined by the 
board

AcƟ ve Licenses
386

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
CompleƟ on of 20 hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on in each two-year renewal period on appropriate building regulaƟ ons 
including any recent revisions to regulaƟ ons

New Hampshire Board of Home Inspectors 
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2219
fax (603) 271-7928
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/home-inspectors/>
contact Diana Craigie, License Clerk
e-mail  diana.craigie@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

License/ApplicaƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $200.00
CerƟ fi cate fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00
Biennial Renewal .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $200.00

License/ApplicaƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $200.00
CerƟ fi cate fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $50.00
Biennial Renewal .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $200.00

Fees

Home Inspector
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Related Training
Building/Home/ConstrucƟ on InspecƟ on/
Inspector

American Society of Home Inspectors, Inc.
<www.homeinspector.org>

InternaƟ onal AssociaƟ on of CerƟ fi ed Home Inspectors 
<www.nachi.org>

American Council for Accredited CerƟ fi caƟ on 
<www.acac.org/cert/NH.aspx>

NaƟ onal Radon Safety Board
<www.nrsb.org>

American Society of Home Inspectors, Inc.
<www.homeinspector.org>

InternaƟ onal AssociaƟ on of CerƟ fi ed Home Inspectors 
<www.nachi.org>

American Council for Accredited CerƟ fi caƟ on 
<www.acac.org/cert/NH.aspx>

NaƟ onal Radon Safety Board
<www.nrsb.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

47-4011.00  ConstrucƟ on and Building Inspectors47-4011.00  ConstrucƟ on and Building Inspectors

O*Net Codes

Home Inspector (conƟ nued)


