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Licensure Requirements
Fuel Gas Trainees

Licensed fuel gas fi Ʃ ers shall sponsor as trainees 
only those individuals who:

• Work under a licensed New Hampshire fuel
gas fi Ʃ er who shall sponsor the trainee 
and oversee his/her educaƟ onal and work 
experience meeƟ ng the requirements for 
fuel gas fi ƫ  ng licensing; and 

• Hold a currently valid trainee registraƟ on license issued by the board.

The board shall issue trainee registraƟ on licenses to those individuals who: 

• Enter into an agreement between the employer / licensed fuel gas sponsor to enroll under an approved fuel gas
training program meeƟ ng the requirements of the board; 

• Complete the board's apprenƟ ce / trainee registraƟ on form; and

• Pay the specifi ed fee

Fuel Gas Piping Installer

• Fuel gas piping installers install liquefi ed propane gas or natural gas piping, or is a New Hampshire licensed plumber,
approved by the board through affi  davit, experience, and educaƟ on or training in the use of NFPA 54, NaƟ onal Fuel 
Gas Code. The fuel gas piping installer shall install propane gas or natural gas piping from the outlet of the fi rst stage 
regulator for liquefi ed propane, or the outlet of the natural gas meter to any and all fuel gas appliance(s) or other 
gas uƟ lizaƟ on equipment.

• To qualify for a fuel gas piping installer specialty license, an individual shall provide the following:

1. Proof of successful compleƟ on of a minimum of 60 hours of educaƟ onal training  as specifi ed in Saf-Mec 305.02
(b)(1)

2. A minimum of 1,000 working hours of on-the-job experience in the trade or its equivalent in an approved
educaƟ onal seƫ  ng as defi ned in Saf-Mec 301.18, relevant to the installaƟ on of gas piping within 60 consecuƟ ve
months, 500 hours of which may be applied with proof of relevant fi eld experience installing, servicing, and
repairing heaƟ ng oil fi red equipment.

3. A New Hampshire licensed plumber in good standing, shall be qualifi ed for a fuel gas piping installer license upon
demonstraƟ on of successful compleƟ on of the educaƟ onal requirements specifi ed in Saf-Mec 305.02 (b)(1).

Fuel Gas FiƩ ers install, repair, alter, service, demolish, or remove pipes, fi xtures, fi ƫ  ngs, appliances, or apparatus 
necessary for supplying natural gas or propane for residenƟ al or non-residenƟ al use from the point of delivery. This 
includes all gas piping from the supply tank or gas meter to the connecƟ on to the combusƟ on zone, the installaƟ on of 
all fuel gas fi red appliances, the applicable venƟ ng of fl ue gases to the outside atmosphere, and the provisions for air 
for combusƟ on and venƟ laƟ on. Fuel Gas FiƩ ers may be known as hearth system installaƟ on and service technicians, 
liquefi ed propane installaƟ on technicians, liquefi ed propane service technicians, natural gas installaƟ on technicians, 
natural gas service technicians, or piping installers. 

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 153:27 through 153:358
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Saf-Mec 100-
500

phone (603) 223-4289
fax (603) 223-4294
web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fi resafety/building/  

mechanical/>
contact Marc Prindiville, Chief Mechanical Inspector
e-mail marc.prindiville@dos.nh.gov

phone (603) 223-4289
fax (603) 223-4294fax
web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fi resafety/building/ 

mechanical/>
contact Marc Prindiville, Chief Mechanical Inspectorcontact
e-mail marc.prindiville@dos.nh.gove-mail

Regulatory Agency

Fuel Gas FiƩ er

Mechanical Safety and Licensing Section
Division of Fire Safety, New Hampshire Department of Safety
110 Smokey Bear Boulevard
Concord, New Hampshire 03305
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Fuel Gas InstallaƟ on Technician

• Fuel gas installaƟ on technicians are engaged in the installaƟ on of inside and outside piping from the outlet of the 
gas meter or fi rst stage regulator, or residenƟ al and non-residenƟ al heaƟ ng equipment systems or water heaƟ ng 
systems, using liquefi ed propane gas or natural gas. The fuel gas installaƟ on include gas piping, gas appliances, 
other gas uƟ lizaƟ on equipment, the venƟ ng and vent systems for gas appliances/gas uƟ lizaƟ on equipment and 
performance of safety checks.

• To qualify for a fuel gas installaƟ on technician specialty license, an individual shall provide proof of successful 
compleƟ on the following:

1. A minimum of 100 hours of educaƟ onal training in subject maƩ er specifi ed in Saf-Mec 305.03 (b)(1); 

2. A minimum of 1,000 working hours of on-the-job experience in the trade or its equivalent in an approved 
educaƟ onal seƫ  ng as defi ned in Saf-Mec 301.18, relevant to the installaƟ on, service, and repair of gas 
appliances or equipment within 60 consecuƟ ve months, 500 hours of which may be applied with proof of 
relevant fi eld experience installing, servicing and repairing heaƟ ng oil fi red appliances or equipment. 

• An individual holding a fuel gas piping installer’s license per Saf-Mec 305.02 may qualify for an installaƟ on 
technician license by providing proof of: 

1. Successful compleƟ on of a formal educaƟ onal program of at least 40 hours in the maƩ er specifi ed in Saf-Mec 
305.03(b)(1) f through k and; 

2. A minimum of 1,000 working hours of on-the-job experience in the trade or its equivalent in an approved 
educaƟ onal seƫ  ng as defi ned in Saf-Mec 301.18, relevant to the installaƟ on, service, and repair of gas 
appliances or equipment within 60 consecuƟ ve months, 500 hours of which may be applied with proof of 
relevant fi eld experience installing, servicing and repairing heaƟ ng oil fi red appliances or equipment.

Fuel Gas Service Technician

• Fuel gas service technicians service and repair inside and outside piping from the outlet of the gas meter or fi rst 
stage regulator, or residenƟ al and non-residenƟ al heaƟ ng equipment systems, or water heaƟ ng systems using 
liquefi ed propane gas or natural gas. 

• To qualify for a fuel gas service technician specialty license, individuals must provide proof of successful compleƟ on 
of: 

1. A minimum of 140 hours of educaƟ onal training in subject maƩ er specifi ed in Saf-Mec 305.04(b)(1).

2. A minimum of 2,000 working hours of on-the-job experience in the trade or its equivalent in an approved 
educaƟ onal seƫ  ng as defi ned in Saf-Mec 301.18, relevant to the installaƟ on, service, and repair of gas 
appliances or equipment within 60 consecuƟ ve months, 750 hours of which may be applied with proof of 
relevant fi eld experience installing, servicing, and repairing heaƟ ng oil fi red appliances or equipment. 

• An individual holding a fuel gas installaƟ on technician license per Saf-Mec 305.03 may qualify  for a fuel service 
technician license by providing proof of:

1. Successful compleƟ on of a formal educaƟ onal program of at least 40 hours in the subject maƩ er specifi ed in 
Saf-Mec 305.04(b)(1) k through r; and 

2. A minimum of 2,000 working hours of on-the-job experience in the trade or its equivalent in an approved 
educaƟ onal seƫ  ng as defi ned in Saf-Mec 301.18, relevant to the installaƟ on, service, and repair of gas 
appliances or equipment within 60 consecuƟ ve months, 750 hours of which may be applied with proof of 
relevant fi eld experience installing, servicing and repairing heaƟ ng oil fi red appliances or equipment.

Fuel Gas FiƩ er (conƟ nued)
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Hearth System Installer

• Hearth system installaƟ on and service 
technicians install, service, and repair 
liquefi ed propane gas or natural gas 
hearth appliances and venƟ ng systems. 

• To qualify for the hearth system 
installaƟ on and service technician 
specialty license, an individual shall 
provide proof of successful compleƟ on 
of: 

1. A minimum of at least 60 hours of 
educaƟ onal training which covers the 
subject maƩ er specifi ed in Saf-Mec 
305.05 (b)(1) 

2. A minimum of 2,000 hours of fi eld 
experience relevant to the installaƟ on 
and service of hearth appliances and 
hearth appliance venƟ ng systems 
within 60 consecuƟ ve months.

ExaminaƟ on
Required — all new applicants must 
pass a wriƩ en examinaƟ on with a score 
of 70 percent or higher relevant to the 
educaƟ onal requirements, including NFPA 
54, NaƟ onal Fuel Gas Code, as outlined for 
each specialty license

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
A minimum of three hours per year of 
conƟ nuing educaƟ on totaling six hours for 
each two-year licensing cycle, is required for 
license renewal

Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed, however, an out-of-state licensee 
with proof of licensure and/or cerƟ fi caƟ on 
from the state they claim to have worked 
is eligible for the licensing examinaƟ on 
relevant to the educaƟ onal requirement as 
outlined for each specialty license   

AcƟ ve Licenses
4,600

Related Training
Pipefi ƫ  ng/Pipefi Ʃ er and Sprinkler FiƩ er
Appliance InstallaƟ on and Repair Technology/Technician

NaƟ onal Fire ProtecƟ on AssociaƟ on
<www.nfpa.org>

CerƟ fi ed Employee Training Program (CETP)
Propane Gas AssociaƟ on of New England
<www.pgane.org>

North American Technician Excellence (NATE)
<www.natex.org>

Granite State Trade School
<www.granitestatetradeschool.com>

NaƟ onal Fireplace InsƟ tute (NFI)
<www.nfi certifi ed.org>

The New Hampshire School of Mechanical Trades
<http://nhtradeschool.com/>

New Hampshire Gasfi Ʃ ers ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on Online
<www.nhgasfi tters.com>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

Gas fi ƫ  ng license, with:
 Piping installer endorsement   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Hearth system installaƟ on endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Fuel gas installaƟ on endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Fuel gas service technician endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 DomesƟ c appliance technician license   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $170.00
 Renewal fee, domesƟ c appliance technician  .  .  .  .  $160.00
 Renewal fee, all other .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $180.00
 Reinstatement fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $350.00
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s month of birth, 
two years from the date of issuance

Gas fi ƫ  ng license, with:
 Piping installer endorsement   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Hearth system installaƟ on endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Fuel gas installaƟ on endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 Fuel gas service technician endorsement  .  .  .  .  .  .  $190.00
 DomesƟ c appliance technician license   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $170.00
 Renewal fee, domesƟ c appliance technician  .  .  .  .  $160.00
 Renewal fee, all other .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $180.00
 Reinstatement fee   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $350.00
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s month of birth, 
two years from the date of issuance

Fees

47-2152.01 Pipefi Ʃ ers and Steamfi Ʃ ers

49-9031.00 Home Appliance Repairers

47-2152.01 Pipefi Ʃ ers and Steamfi Ʃ ers

49-9031.00 Home Appliance Repairers

O*Net Codes

Fuel Gas FiƩ er (conƟ nued)




