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Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2021

Assist the family and friends of the deceased in making business and personal arrangements for the funeral service 
and burial. Obtain the information needed for the death certificate. Arrange to have the body transported to the 
funeral home and prepare it for disposition either by burial or cremation. Embalm the deceased if requested. Discuss 
details of the funeral with the family and other parties involved, such as making arrangements with the cemetery, 
placing obituary notices in the newspaper, ordering flowers, etc. Contact the clergyman if there is to be a religious 
service, provide cars for the service, receive and usher guests to their seats and organize the funeral procession. 
Complete the various forms necessary for benefits including veterans, social security and other insurance papers.

Legislation
Statute: NH RSA 325
Administrative Rules: Chapter Frl 100 - 400

Licensure Requirements
• Must hold an embalmer’s license

• Pass such examinations as the Board 
may deem proper to ascertain his/her 
efficiency and qualifications to engage in 
funeral directing

• Obtain the appropriate license from the 
Board

Examination
Written examination required

Continuing Education
Minimum of 14 credit hours every biennial 
licensing period

Reciprocity
According to the provisions of RSA 325

Active Licenses
179

Related Training
Funeral Service and Mortuary Science, 
General; Funeral Direction/Service

New Hampshire Board of Registration of Funeral  
Directors and Embalmers
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
7 Eagle Square
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152
fax (603) 271-5056
web <https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-registration-funeral-

directors-and-embalmers>
contact Board Administrator
e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Funeral Directors and Embalmers Association 
<www.nhfda.org>

Additional Information Sources

License  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $300.00
Examination  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $150.00
Biennial renewal  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $300.00

Fees

39-4031.00  Morticians, Undertakers, and Funeral Directors

O*Net Codes

Funeral Director
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