Explosives Worker / Blaster

Place and detonate explosives to demolish structures or to loosen, remove, or displace earth, rock, or other materials. May perform specialized handling, storage, and accounting procedures. Includes seismograph shooters. Explosives are defined as any material or container containing a chemical compound or mixture that is commonly used or intended for the purpose of producing an explosion and that contains any oxidizing or combustible materials or other ingredients in such proportions, quantities, or packing that an ignition by fire, friction, concussion, or detonation of any part of the compound or mixture may cause such a sudden generation of highly heated gases that the resultant gaseous pressure is capable of producing destructive effects on contiguous objects.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 158

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 1600

Certificate of Competency Requirements

- Must be 21 years of age or older
- Submit an application in person
- Obtain a passing grade on the competency test
- Demonstrate familiarity with applicable rules and laws, and obtain endorsements from two persons who are holders of a valid certificate of competency and who have knowledge of the applicant's competency to conduct blasting operations. The endorser must have been present when explosives were used and the applicant must have assisted the endorser with the loading and firing of the explosive.
- Applicants for a certificate of competency with no restriction shall also submit documentation verified by an endorser and copies of blast records establishing experience with at least 25 separate blasting operations that had a combined weight of at least 10,000 pounds

Examination

Written competency examination required

Continuing Education

Not required

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Regulatory Agency

Permits and Licensing Unit

New Hampshire State Police 33 Hazen Drive Room 106 Concord, New Hampshire 03302

phone (603) 223-3873 fax (603) 271-0306

web https://www.nhsp.dos.nh.gov/our-services/justice-

information-bureau/permits-and-licensing>

contact Lt. Victor G. Muzzey

e-mail permitsandlicensing@dos.nh.gov

Fees

Certificate of Competency – Blasting	\$100.00
Certificate renewal (every four years)	\$100.00
Duplicate certificate	\$3.00

O*Net Codes

47-5031.00 Explosives Workers, Ordnance Handling Experts, and Blasters

Additional Information Sources

Society of Explosives Engineers, Inc. <www.isee.org>

Active Licenses

312

Related Training

Blasting/Blaster