# Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Provider

Emergency Medical Services Providers at the Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) level and higher administer emergency medical treatment and transport sick or injured persons to medical facilities, working as a member of a licensed emergency medical team. Licensed providers assist in removal of victims from the scenes of accidents, determine the nature and extent of illness or injury, and establish priorities for emergency treatment. They also administer first aid such as the application of splints, treatment of wounds, administration of artificial resuscitation, giving initial care to poison and burn victims, and assisting in childbirth. If injury or illness requires a higher level of intervention, they contact hospital personnel by radio for medical direction. Helicopters can be requested to transport critically ill or injured patients to a trauma center.

## Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 153-A

Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 5900

## **Licensure Requirements**

- · Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must complete a criminal background check
- Applicant must be affiliated with a licensed New Hampshire EMS unit
- Training programs which will qualify applicant for certification and licensing:
  - Emergency Medical Responder
  - Emergency Medical Technician
  - Advanced Emergency Medical Technician
  - Paramedic

### **Examination**

New Hampshire EMS practical examinations and National Registry of EMTs (NREMT) computeradaptive testing is required for certification

## **Continuing Education**

Biennial requirements (once certified) as per National Registry policy for each of the following levels:

- Emergency Medical Responder 16 hours
- Emergency Medical Technician 40 hours
- Advanced Emergency Medical Technician -50 hours
- · Paramedic 60 hours

## **Regulatory Agency**

### **Bureau of Emergency Medical Services**

Division of Fire Standards and Training and Emergency Medical Services New Hampshire Department of Safety 33 Hazen Drive Concord, New Hampshire 03305

phone (603) 223-4200 fax (603) 271-1091

web <www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/fstems/ems/>

contact Capt. Kathy Doolan, EMS Operations

e-mail EMS.licensing@dos.nh.gov

#### **Fees**

EMS Unit Licensing Initial/Renewal \$100.00
EMS Vehicle License Initial/Renewal \$20.00
Fees waived for non-profit, volunteer, and municipalities
EMS Provider License Initial/Renewal No fee
Background check New/Lapsed Providers \$48.25

## O\*Net Codes

29-2041.00 Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics

# Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Provider (continued)

# Reciprocity

Not permitted — must be nationally registered

## **Active Provider Licenses**

5,500

# **Related Training**

Emergency Medical Technology/ Technician—EMT Paramedic

# **Additional Information Sources**

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) <www.nremt.org>