Embalmer

Prepare bodies for interment in conformity with legal requirements. Embalm the body if requested to do so by the family. Prepare the deceased for viewing, dress bodies and place them in caskets, and may arrange funeral details.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 325 Administrative Rules: Chapter Frl 100 - 400

Licensure Requirements

- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Must be of good professional character
- Complete a one-year course in apprenticeship under the supervision of a duly licensed or registered embalmer actively engaged in embalming within the state
- Complete a full course of instruction in an embalming school, maintaining at that time a standard satisfactory to the Board
- Pass such examinations as the Board may deem proper to ascertain his or her efficiency and qualifications to engage in embalming
- Obtain the appropriate license from the Board

Examination

Practical examination required

Continuing Education

Minimum of 14 credit hours every biennial licensing period

Active Licenses

6

Related Training

Mortuary Science and Embalming/Embalmer

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Registration of Funeral Directors and Embalmers Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone	(603) 271-2152
fax	(603) 271-5056
web	<https: board-registration-funeral-<="" th="" www.oplc.nh.gov=""></https:>
	directors-and-embalmers>
contact	Board Administrator
e-mail	funeral.board@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

License	\$110.00
Practical examination	\$150.00
Biennial renewal	\$110.00

O*Net Codes

39-4011.00 Embalmers

Additional Information Sources

New Hampshire Funeral Directors and Embalmers Association <www.nhfda.org>

Reciprocity

Applicants licensed in another state may apply for licensure if requirements in the state they were licensed in are equivalent or superior to those of New Hampshire