# Elevator or Accessibility Lift Mechanic and Inspector

Construct, maintain, or repair elevators or accessibility lifts, which are inclined stairway chairlifts and inclined and vertical wheelchair lifts, including gates, any doors, wells, enclosures, runway means and appurtenances required for operation. Elevator inspectors inspect and test elevators and accessibility lifts.

# Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 157-B

Administrative Rules: Chapter Lab 1300

# **Licensure Requirements**

# Elevator Inspector or Accessibility Lift Inspector

- File application
- Pass examination with a minimum score of 70 percent
- If applicable, provide current qualified elevator inspector (QEI) certification
- A minimum of two years' experience as an accessibility lift mechanic is required for an accessibility lift inspector license, and two years experience as an elevator mechanic for inspector
- Inspectors with experience in excess of five years within the state may be exempted from examination by the commissioner

## **Elevator Mechanic**

- File application
- Pass examination with a minimum score of 70 percent
- Have a minimum of two years' experience, with an average of 1,800 hours annually, as an elevator mechanic's helper or apprentice, working in New Hampshire directly under a licensed elevator mechanic; or
- Hold an elevator mechanic certificate or license of competency from another state for three consecutive years, working as an elevator mechanic, with an average of 1,800 hours each year over the three-year period.

### **Accessibility Lift Mechanic**

- File application
- Pass examination specific to technical knowledge on accessibility lifts with a minimum score of 70 percent
- Have a minimum of two years' experience, with an average of 1,800 hours annually, as an accessibility lift mechanic's helper or apprentice, working in New Hampshire directly under a licensed accessibility lift mechanic; or
- Hold an accessibility lift mechanic certificate or license of competency from another state for three consecutive
  years, working as an accessibility lift mechanic, with an average of 1,800 hours each year over the three-year
  period.

# **Regulatory Agency**

### **Inspection Division**

New Hampshire Department of Labor

95 Pleasant Street

Concord New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2585 fax (603) 271-2668

web <www.nh.gov/labor/inspection/elevators-lifts.htm>

contact Michele Small, Administrator e-mail inspectiondiv@dol.nh.gov

# Elevator or Accessibility Lift Mechanic and Inspector (continued)

#### Examination

Written and oral examinations required

## **Continuing Education**

Not required

# Reciprocity

Anyone holding a certificate or license of competency as an elevator mechanic or accessibility lift mechanic issued by another state may, upon approval of a completed application, be issued a license without examination with payment of a \$35.00 fee, provided licensees of New Hampshire are not subject to greater requirements in that state than in New Hampshire.

#### **Active Licenses**

Not provided

# **Related Training**

Industrial Mechanics and Maintenance Technology

#### **Fees**

New application fee											\$50.00
Biennial renewal											\$35.00
Reinstatement fee .											\$50.00

## O\*Net Codes

47-4021.00 Elevator Installers and Repairers

### **Additional Information Sources**

NAESA International <www.naesai.org>

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) <www.asme.org>