# Driver Education Instructor, Motor Vehicle Schools

Successfully instruct students to safely operate a motor vehicle in various traffic environments and conditions. Attain student familiarity and understanding of laws, rules and regulations and the natural laws and limitations that foster their development. Work towards a socially responsible vehicle operator, who minimizes risk factors through positive decision making. Use the latest best practices in instruction to obtain objectives from a clearly defined curriculum. Employ a variety of instructional techniques in the classroom and in-vehicle to ensure student comprehension and success. Support an understanding of attitude and health-related issues on the thought and driving process and obtaining competence in safely operating a motor vehicle.

**Division of Motor Vehicles** 

New Hampshire Department of Safety

## Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 21-P:14,I(a)-(h) and 263:45 Administrative Rules: Chapter Saf-C 3100

#### **Certification Requirements** *Provisional Intructor Certificate-Driver Education (Saf-C 3105.01)* (valid two years)

 Complete three, three-credit courses at Keene State College or White Mountain Community with a grade of 75 or higher: Introduction to Traffic Safety, Methods of Teaching Driver Education and Traffic Safety, In-Vehicle Driver Education Methods

## **Regulatory Agency**

23 Hazen Drive Concord, New Hampshire 03305 phone (603) 271-4075 fax (603) 271-1760 web https://www.dmv.nh.gov/drivers-licensenon-driverids/apply-your-first-drivers-licensenon-driver-id/drivereducation/instructors contact TFC Richard Dupont, Supervisor of Driver Education e-mail richard.h.dupont@dos.nh.gov

- Valid driver's license for the class of vehicle in which applicant desires to instruct
- A minimum of five consecutive years of licensed driving experience
- Must be of good character, reputation, and fitness to instruct driver education
- Current physical exam at time of application
- Submit a notarized criminal history record release form, a complete set of fingerprints, and a notarized motor vehicle record

### Standard Instructor Certificate-Driver Education (Saf-C 3105.02)

(valid three years)

- Meets the standards for a provisional certificate (above)
- Submits a completed application, along with the appropriate fee
- Has no disqualifying convictions on the criminal history record or the motor vehicle record
- Complete a supervised teaching experience in New Hampshire during the past two years including a minimum of 60 hours of classroom and 240 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction
- Obtain six credits of college-level courses designed to meet competencies in Saf-C 3103.02b-e with a grade of 75 or higher
- Current physical exam required at time of application
- Has not been subject to an administrative action by the department of safety during the period of driver education provisional certification

### Certification Competencies (Saf-C 3103.05 a - f)

 The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the basic elements of driver and traffic safety education, including: Theories of accident causation; Interpretation of the elements of the Highway Transportation System; Components of the driving task; Psychological and physiological factors affecting driver behavior; and Laws and rules that regulate motor vehicle operation

## Driver Education Instructor, Motor Vehicle Schools (continued)

- b. The program shall provide teacher candidates with experiences which expand skills in operating motor vehicles under normal and adverse weather conditions
- c. The program shall provide supervised, professional teacher experiences
- d. The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the organization and management of a driver and traffic safety education program
- e. The program shall provide the student with knowledge of: Processes of human growth, development, and learning including the characteristics of particular age groups such as adolescents or adults; Skills used in recognizing, analyzing, evaluating, and employing specific teaching and diagnostic techniques and instructional materials appropriate to the classroom and behind-the-wheel environments; and skills needed to work effectively with educationally or physically handicapped students in the regular classroom
- f. The program shall provide the student with knowledge of the effects of alcohol and other drug use, particularly as they relate to decision-making and driving behaviors

### Approval of Driver Education Schools (Saf-C 3108.03)

- (a) An approved drivers' school license shall be issued when a standard certificate applicant:
  - (1) Submits a completed application, pursuant to Saf-C 3108.02;
  - (2) Meets the requirements of Saf-C 3108.07, Saf-C 3109, and Saf-C 3111;
  - (3) Pays appropriate fee, pursuant to RSA 263:44; and
  - (4) Has no grounds for denial, pursuant to RSA 263:50 or these rules.
- (b) All approved drivers' school licenses shall expire on December 31st of each year
- (c) An approved drivers' school license shall be visibly displayed in accordance with the requirements of RSA 263:44
- (d) An applicant who has been denied an approved drivers' school license shall be provided an opportunity for administrative hearing in accordance with the requirements of RSA 263:47 and Daf-C3106.01

### Provisional Instructor Certificate-Commercial Driver License Education (Saf-C 3120.01)

- (a) A CDL driver education provisional certificate shall be issued when the applicant:
  - Submits a completed application, along with the appropriate fee, pursuant to Saf-C 3119.041 and Saf-C 3119.02;
  - (2) Meets the requirements of Saf-C 3118.02 through Saf-C 3118.05;
  - (3) Has no disqualifying arrests, indictments or summonses, that the applicant has disclosed pursuant to RSA 263:46-a, I;
  - (4) Has no disqualifying convictions on the criminal history record check pursuant to Saf-C 3121.01(c) or that the applicant has disclosed pursuant to RSA 263:46-a, II; and
  - (5) Has no disqualifying convictions on the motor vehicle record pursuant to Saf-C 3121.01(e).
- (b) An applicant who requests a CDL driver education provisional certificate in order to instruct driver education in an approved drivers' school shall complete a driver training program compliant with 49 CFR 380.
- (c) A CDL driver education provisional certificate shall be valid for a period of 2 years from the date of issuance of the certificate.
- (d) Upon expiration of an initial CDL driver education provisional certificate, an applicant who otherwise meets the requirements of Saf-C 3120.01(a) above may receive one additional provisional certificate if:
  - (1) The applicant has not met the requirements of Saf-C 3120.02(b); and
  - (2) The applicant has not been subject to an administrative action by the department during the period of initial CDL driver education provisional certification.
- (e) An applicant who has been denied a CDL driver education provisional certificate shall be provided an opportunity for an administrative hearing in accordance with the requirements of Saf-C 3121.01.

### Standard Instructor Certificate-Commercial Driver License Education (Saf-C 3120.02)

- (a) A CDL driver education standard certificate shall be issued when the applicant:
  - Submits a completed application, along with the appropriate fee, pursuant to Saf-C Saf-C 3119.01 and Saf-C 3119.02;

## Driver Education Instructor, Motor Vehicle Schools (continued)

- (2) Meets the requirements of Saf-C 3118.02 and Saf-C 3118.05;
- (3) Is physically capable of providing driver education instruction pursuant to Saf-C 3118.03;
- (4) Has no disqualifying arrests or indictments that the applicant has disclosed pursuant to RSA 263:46a, l;
- (5) Has no disqualifying convictions on the criminal history record check pursuant to Saf-C 3121.01(c) or that the applicant has disclosed pursuant to RSA 263:46-a, II;
- (6) Has no disqualifying convictions on the motor vehicle record pursuant to Saf-C 3121.01(e); and
- (7) Has not been subject to an administrative action by the department of safety during the period of driver education provisional certification.

### Fees

Provisional certification										. \$25.00
Standard certification .										. \$40.00
School certification								•		.\$100.00

## **O\*Net Codes**

25-2031.00	Secondary School Teachers,
	Except Special and Vocational Education
25-3021.00	Self-Enrichment Education Teachers

## **Additional Information Sources**

American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association *www.adtsea.org* 

New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles-Driver Education https://www.dmv.nh.gov/drivers-licensenon-driver-ids/applyyour-first-drivers-licensenon-driver-id/driver-education

(b) An applicant who requests a CDL driver

education standard certificate in order to instruct driver education in an approved drivers' school shall:

- (1) Provide documentation of supervised CDL-A driver education experience in New Hampshire from a licensed CDL commercial school, including a minimum of:
  - a. Sixty hours of CDL-A classroom instruction; and
  - b. Sixty hours of behind the wheel CDL-A instruction in a CDL-A day cab tractor; and
  - c. Thirty hours of combined pre-trip and off road skills; and
- (2) Provide documentation of completion of a driver training program compliant with 49 CFR 380.
- (c) A CDL driver education standard certificate shall be valid for a period of 3 years from the date of issuance of the certificate.
- (d) An applicant who has been denied a driver education standard certificate shall be provided an opportunity for an administrative hearing in accordance with the requirements of Saf-C 3121.01.

### Approval of Commercial Driver Education Schools (Saf-C 3117.05)

Saf-C 3117.05 Approved CDL Drivers' School License. The application and approval process for an approved CDL drivers' school license shall be in accordance with RSA 263:44 and Saf-C 3108. All approved CDL drivers' schools shall comply with 49 CFR 380.

## Examination (Saf-C 3103.03; .04 and Saf-C 3118.03)

Physical exam; written exam on traffic and driver education regulations; and road test on driving skills are all required

### **Continuing Education**

Professional growth activities totaling 51 hours

### Reciprocity

Yes, provided instructor applicant has required courses and credits

Active Licenses

230 secondary and commercial instructors

### **Related Training**

Driver and Safety Teacher Education