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ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
A minimum of 40 conƟnuing educaƟon units 
(CEUs) every two years, with 30 CEUs in clinical 
dental care subjects, including two CEUs in infecƟon control and successful completion of a basic life support for 
health care providers (BLS-HCP) course, with a hands-on component. DenƟsts who have a U.S. Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA) number associated with New Hampshire and who prescribe Schedule II - IV controlled 
substances shall complete three CEUs each biennium in the area of pain management and addicƟon disorder or a 
combinaƟon, or successfully complete an online exam in these areas. 

Diagnoses and treats diseases of the oral cavity and adjacent structures. Supervises individuals in the care of the 
mouth and instructs them in the ways to prevent dental disease. Most pracƟ ce general denƟ stry, oral surgery, 
endodonƟ cs, pedodonƟ cs, orthodonƟ cs, or periodonƟ cs. Some denƟ sts teach in dental schools, do research, conduct 
dental programs, or serve as military commissioned offi  cers.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 317-A:7 and NH RSA 317-A:20
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Den 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements
• Graduate of a dental school general

denƟ stry program of at least two years
duraƟ on accredited by the Commission
on Dental AccreditaƟ on (CODA) and
awarded the degree of DMD or DDS

• A permit and an applicaƟ on fee
are required to administer general
anesthesia, deep sedaƟ on, and
moderate sedaƟ on (restricted or
unrestricted)

• Must complete a criminal background
check

ExaminaƟ on
Must pass naƟ onal and regional 
examinaƟ ons acceptable to the Board

Reciprocity
Endorsement cerƟ fi caƟ on shall be considered for each applicant who holds a current, unsuspended, unrestricted 
license to pracƟ ce denƟ stry who deposits with the Board the required credenƟ als the applicant has taken and 
passed the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) examinaƟ on, or other similar U.S. regional or state board 
clinical examinaƟ on for denƟ sts, including a periodontal/scaling exam; and for the three years immediately prior to 
submiƫ  ng the applicaƟ on, the applicant: (1) has pracƟ ced clinical denƟ stry in one or more states; (2) has been in 
dental specialty training; (3) has been in acƟ ve military dental service; or (4) has been in any combinaƟ on thereof.

New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 302
Concord, New Hampshire 03301-2412

phone (603) 271-4561
fax (603) 271-6702
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/dental/>
contact ChrisƟ ne Senko or Jeanne T. Clement
e-mail dental.board@oplc.nh.gov 
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Regulatory Agency

ApplicaƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $200.00
Biennial registraƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $365.00
InacƟ ve registraƟ on (biennial)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $145.00
ApplicaƟ on to administer 
 general anesthesia and sedaƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $35.00
Reinstatement fee for lapsed acƟ ve dental license  .  .   $225.00
Reinstatement fee for lapsed inacƟ ve license  .  .  .  .  .  .  $35.00
Duplicate cerƟ fi cate   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
LeƩ er of good standing.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
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Biennial registraƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $365.00
InacƟ ve registraƟ on (biennial)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $145.00
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Reinstatement fee for lapsed inacƟ ve license  .  .  .  .  .  .  $35.00
Duplicate cerƟ fi cate   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
LeƩ er of good standing.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00

Fees

DenƟ st
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Related Training
DenƟ stry; Advanced/Graduate DenƟ stry 
and Oral Sciences 

AcƟ ve Licenses
1,203

American Dental AssociaƟ on
<www.ada.org>

The Commission on Dental Competency Assessments
<www.cdcaexams.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

29-1021.00  DenƟ st

29-1023.00  OrthodonƟ st

29-1024.00  ProsthodonƟ st

29-1021.00  DenƟ st

29-1023.00  OrthodonƟ st

29-1024.00  ProsthodonƟ st

O*Net Codes

DenƟ st (conƟ nued) 




