# Child Care Program Teacher

Child Care Program Teachers provide a daily schedule of activities for play, meals, sleep, and toileting, and are responsible for children in their care.

## Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 170-E

Administrative Rules: Chapter He-C 4002

# **Licensure Requirements**

- Child day care agencies (provider/ facility/program) must be licensed by the Child Care Licensing Unit under New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services.
- For employment in a child care nursery, group child care center, preschool program, or school-age program, all child care personnel must provide documentation of education and experience, with such documentation to be kept on file at the child care program
- Note that licensure of individuals is not required. Credentialing is voluntary.
- Lead Teachers in group child care programs, child care nurseries, preschool programs, and center-based night care programs shall be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, have a minimum of 1,000 hours experience working with children in a licensed child care program, and meet one of the following pre-service training/education options:
  - 1. College courses totaling 18 credits in child development, early childhood or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children, with three credits in child growth and development; or
  - 2. Documentation of a non-expired Child Development Associates (CDA) credential in center based programs awarded by the council for professional recognition; or
  - 3. A credential from a teacher preparation program accredited by the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education (MACTE); or
  - 4. Documentation on file with the department that she or he was qualified for and employed in the position of lead teacher on or before the effective date of these rules in 2017.
- Associate Teachers in group child care programs, child care nurseries, preschool programs, and center-based night care programs shall be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and have at least one of the following:
  - 1. Nine college credits in child development, early childhood, or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children, including at least one three credit course in child growth and development; or

# **Regulatory Agency**

## **Child Care Licensing Unit**

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

129 Pleasant Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone 1-800-852-3345 ext. 9025; or (603) 271-9025

fax (603) 271-4782

web <https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/

childcare-parenting-childbirth/child-care-licensing>

contact Melissa Clement, Chief e-mail ccluoffice@dhhs.nh.gov

# Child Care Program Teacher (continued)

- 2. A minimum of 1,500 hours of supervised experience in a licensed program or public or private elementary school with recommendation from the center director plus documentation of at least three credits in child development, early childhood or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children, and a written plan for completion of an additional six credits earned within a year of employment; or
- 3. A minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised child care experience in a licensed program and documentation of successful completion of a two-year vocational child care course; or
- 4. Current certification as Paraeducator II by the New Hampshire Department of Education; or
- 5. Written documentation on file with the department that she or he was qualified and employed as an associate teacher on or before the effective date of these rules in 2017.
- Assistant Teacher in group child care programs, child care nurseries, preschool programs, and center-based night
  care programs shall:
  - 1. Be at least 16 years of age
  - 2. Work with children only under the direct supervision and observation of a staff person who meets at least the minimum qualifications of an associate teacher
- **Group Leaders** in a school-age program shall be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and one of the following:
  - 1. Experience working with school-age children, totaling 600 hours;
  - 2. Documentation of at least three credits in child development, education, recreation, or other field of study focused on children, awarded by a regionally accredited college or university; or
  - 3. Documentation that she or he is a certified coach; or
  - 4. Documentation on file with the department that she or he was qualified and employed as a group leader in a school-age program on or before the effective date of these rules in 2017.

## • Assistant Group Leaders

- 1. Be at least 16 years of age; and
- 2. Work with children only when under the supervision and observation of a site director, or group leader as described.

#### Family Child Care Providers, Workers, or Assistants

- 1. To qualify as a Family child care provider, individuals must be a resident of New Hampshire, and:Family child care workers shall be 18 years of age or older
- 2. Be at least 21 years of age: or
- 3. Be at least 18 years of age and submit documentation that they have a high school diploma or equivalent, and have at least one of the following:
- 4. Successful completion of a two-year child care curriculum approved by the New Hampshire Department of Education: or
- 5. College courses totaling six credits in child development, early childhood or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children, including at least one three-credit course in child growth and development.
- 6. Family child care workers must be 18 years of age or older
- 7. Family child care assistants must be 16 years of age or older and must work under the supervision of the family child care provider or the family child care worker at all times

# Child Care Program Teacher (continued)

# **Continuing Education**

All center directors, lead teachers, and family child care providers shall complete 18 hours of training annually. Assistant teachers, associate teachers, group leaders, assistant group leaders, family child care workers, and family child care assistants who work fewer than 25 hours per week shall obtain 12 hours of professional development, or 18 hours if working 25 hours or more. Training shall be in any of the following areas:

- Child development
- · Health and safety, or life safety
- · Caring for children with exceptionalities
- Nutrition
- Any child care related courses sponsored or funded by the Department
- Indoor and outdoor learning environments
- · Behavior guidance
- Leadership, child care administration, or mentoring
- Financial management
- Working with families
- · Legal issues in child care
- Child abuse and neglect

#### **Examination**

No examination is required, however, CPR and first aid certification are required

## Reciprocity

Not permitted

#### **Active Licenses**

735 licensed center and home child care programs

### **Related Training**

Child Care Provider/Assistant

### **Fees**

- There is a \$50.00 fee for an employment eligibility card effective January 2018, which demonstrates a comprehensive background check has been completed and the employee is eligible to work in a licensed child care program. The card is valid for five years provided the employee does not have a break in employment in a New Hampshire child care program greater than six months.
- There is a \$25.00 fee for application for a voluntary credential, which is valid for three years. Fees vary at the community level.

#### O\*Net Codes

39-9011.00 Child Care Worker

## **Additional Information Sources**

New Hampshire Early Childhood Credential DHHS/DCYF/Child Development Bureau <www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cdb/profdev.htm>

Council for Professional Recognition (CDA) <a href="https://www.cdacouncil.org">www.cdacouncil.org</a>

American Montessori Society <www.amshq.org>

North American Montessori Teachers' Association (NAMTA) <www.montessori-namta.org>

National Head Start Association <www.nhsa.org>