## Child Care Program Center Director

Child Care Center Directors and Site Directors direct the activities of child development facilities to provide instruction and care for children. Prepare budgets, authorize purchase of materials, interview and recommend hiring of staff, and other administrative duties. Maintain a safe and healthy learning environment.

### Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 170-E

Administrative Rules: Chapter He-C 4002

## **Licensure Requirements**

Child day care agencies (provider/facility/program) must be licensed by the Child Care Licensing Unit under New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services. Licensure of individuals is not required. Credentialing is voluntary.

## **Regulatory Agency**

#### **Child Care Licensing Unit**

New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

129 Pleasant Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone 1-800-852-3345 ext. 9025; or (603) 271-9025

fax (603) 271-4782

web <https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/</pre>

childcare-parenting-childbirth/child-care-licensing>

contact Melissa Clement, Chief e-mail ccluoffice@dhhs.nh.gov

- For employment in a child care
   nursery, group child care center, preschool program, or school-age program, all child care personnel must provide
   documentation of education and experience, with such documentation to be kept on file at the child care program.
- Center Directors in a group child care program, child care nursery, preschool program, or center-based night care program must be at least 21 years of age, have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma, documentation of at least three credits in child development, and three credits in management or supervision or a minimum of two years' experience in a supervisory or management position in lieu of the three credits in management and supervision, a minimum of 1,500 hours experience working with children in a licensed program or public or private elementary school and at least one of the following qualifications:
  - 1. A minimum of an Associate's degree in child development, early childhood or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children; or
  - 2. An additional 3,000 hours of experience working with children in a licensed program or in a public or private school and documentation of a current Child Development Associates (CDA) credential in center-based programs; or
  - 3. Current certification in early childhood, elementary, or special education by the department of education; or
  - 4. Certification in a teacher preparation program accredited by the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education (MACTE) in infant and toddler, early childhood or elementary I, which satisfies the three credits in child development required if certified in infant and toddler or early childhood, together with 60 college credits; or
  - 5. College courses totaling 60 credits, including a minimum of 24 credits in child development, early childhood, or elementary education, or other field of study focused on children, including at least three credits in children with special needs, child growth and development, and curriculum for early childhood education; or
  - 6. Be on file with the department as a center director working in that position on or before the effective date of these rules in 2017.

# Child Care Program Center Director (continued)

- **School Age Program Site Directors** in a school-age program must be at least 20 years of age, have a high school diploma or general equivalency diploma, and have at least one of the following qualifications:
  - 1. A minimum of an associate's degree in child development, education, recreation, or other field of study focused on children, awarded by a regionally accredited college or university; or
  - 2. Certification of successful completion of training as a recreation director plus 1,000 hours experience working with children in a licensed child care program, recreation program or elementary school; or
  - 3. A total of 12 credits in child development, education, recreation, or other field of study focused on children,, from a regionally accredited college plus 1,000 hours of experience working with children; or
  - 4. Current certification as an educator by the New Hampshire Department of Education; or
  - 5. Experience working with children totaling 2,000 hours and the following:
    - a. Current certification as a Paraeducator II by the New Hampshire Department of Education; or
    - b. Both of the following:
      - Documentation of enrollment in a course for at least three credits in child development, education, recreation, or other field of study focused on children through a regionally accredited college or university and a written plan on file for completion of at least three additional credits as specified; and
      - 2. Within 12 months of the date the individual begins working as a site director, documentation of successful completion of a total of at least six credits as specified in (b)(1) shall be on file for review by the department; or
  - 6. Written documentation from or on file with the department that she or he was qualified and employed as a site director in a school-age program on or before the effective date of these rules in 2017.

## **Continuing Education**

All center and site directors shall complete 18 hours of training annually in any of the following areas:

- Child development
- Health and safety, or life safety
- Children with special needs
- Nutrition
- Any child care related courses sponsored or funded by the Department, including but not limited to child care basics or beyond the basics
- Indoor and outdoor learning environments
- Behavior guidance
- Staff supervision
- Leadership, child care administration, or mentoring in early childhood
- Financial management
- Working with families
- Legal issues in child care
- Child welfare

# Child Care Program Center Director (continued)

#### **Examination**

No examination is required, however, CPR and first aid certification are required

### Reciprocity

Not permitted

#### **Active Licenses**

735 licensed center and home child care programs

### **Related Training**

Child Care and Support Services
Management; Early Childhood Education
and Teaching

#### **Fees**

- There is a \$50.00 fee for an employment eligibility card effective January 2018, which demonstrates a comprehensive background check has been completed and the employee is eligible to work in a licensed child care program. The card is valid for five years provided the employee does not have a break in employment in a New Hampshire child care program greater than six months.
- There is a \$25.00 fee for application for a voluntary credential, which is valid for three years. Fees vary at the community level.

#### O\*Net Codes

11-9031.00 Education Administrators,
Preschool and Child Care Center/Program

#### **Additional Information Sources**

New Hampshire Early Childhood Credential DHHS/DCYF/Child Development Bureau <www.dhhs.nh.gov/dcyf/cdb/profdev.htm>

Council for Professional Recognition (CDA) <www.cdacouncil.org>

American Montessori Society <www.amshq.org>

North American Montessori Teachers' Association (NAMTA) <www.montessori-namta.org>

National Head Start Association <www.nhsa.org>