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Licensed, CerƟ fi ed, and Registered OccupaƟ ons in New Hampshire 2019

Barbers cut, trim, and style hair or beards. Many off er other services such as hair and scalp treatments, face massages, 
shaves, and shampoos. Master barbers may also color, wave, curl, straighten, or bleach hair, and fi t hairpieces. They 
must keep their scissors, combs, and other instruments clean and in good condiƟ on, and also maintain a clean work 
area. Those who own or manage a shop also order supplies, pay bills, keep records, and hire workers.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 313-A:10
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Bar 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements
• Must be of good professional character

• Complete the fourth year of high school
or its equivalent

• Receive training of: a minimum of 1,500
hours of training in a school of master
barbering licensed by the Board; or a
minimum of 3,000 hours distributed
over a period of at least 18 months
under a licensed barber who has
engaged in the pracƟ ce of barbering
within the state for at least two years.

• Pass an examinaƟ on conducted by the
Board

• Pay a fee established by the Board

ExaminaƟ on
WriƩ en and pracƟ cal examinaƟ on required

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
Not required

Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed if the other state’s licensing 
requirements are substanƟ ally equivalent 
to or higher than those of New Hampshire

Related Training
Barbering/Barber; Hair Styling/Stylist and Hair 
Design; Salon/Beauty Salon Management/Manager

AcƟ ve Licenses
438

DL Roope AdministraƟ ons Inc. (exam administrator)
<www.dlroope.com>

NaƟ onal-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology
<www.nictesting.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, 
and EstheƟcs
Office of Professional Licensure and CerƟficaƟon 
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-3608
fax (603) 271-3950
web <www.oplc.nh.gov/cosmetology/>
contact Tina M. Kelley, Administrator
e-mail Ɵ na.kelley@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

ApprenƟ ce registraƟ on.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $25.00
Biennial apprenƟ ce renewal   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $85.00
ExaminaƟ on .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .   $193.00
Biennial renewal  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $40.00
Licenses expire on the last day of the licensee’s birth month in 
the odd year next succeeding its date of issuance
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Fees

39-5011.00  Barber39-5011.00  Barber

O*Net Codes

Barber, Master




