Audiologist

Examine and provide remedial services for persons with hearing disorders. Administer and interpret tests to determine type and degree of hearing impairment. Refer patient to physician or surgeon if medical treatment is determined to be necessary. Plan and implement prevention and rehabilitation services, including hearing aid selection and orientation, counseling, lip reading, and other programs. May develop preventive and rehabilitative programs in consultation with a speech-language pathologist.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 137-F

Administrative Rules: Chapter Hcp 100 - 500

Licensure Requirements

- Demonstrate sufficient evidence of good professional character and reliability to satisfy the Board that the applicant shall faithfully and conscientiously avoid professional misconduct and otherwise adhere to requirements
- Possess at least a Master's degree in audiology from an educational institution approved by the Board

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Speech Language Pathology and Hearing Care Board

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-6702

web https://www.oplc.nh.gov/speech-language-

pathology-and-hearing-care-providers-governing-

board>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

- Complete a minimum of 350 hours of a supervised clinical practicum experience
- Complete a supervised post-graduate professional experience of at least nine consecutive months with a minimum of 30 hours per week (a one-year interim license is available to applicants that complete all but the post-graduate professional experience)

Examination

National written examination in Audiology

Continuing Education

Twenty hours of continuing education units (CEUs) or equivalent are required biennially for renewal

Fees

License fee, including temporary and interim licenses \$300.00
Biennial Renewal \$300.00
Renewal is due by July 1 of the odd year next succeeding issuance

Reciprocity

Permitted with proof of licensure requirements equivalent to or greater than those of New Hampshire RSA 137-F. A temporary license may be granted for up to 120 days to an applicant licensed in another jurisdiction that has applied for a license in New Hampshire.

Active Licenses

117

Audiologist (continued)

Related Training

Audiology/Audiologist and Hearing Sciences; Audiology/Audiologist and Speech-Language Pathology/Pathologist

O*Net Codes

29-1181.00 Audiologist

Additional Information Sources

American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) <www.asha.org>

ETS - The Praxis Series <www.ets.org/praxis/asha>