# Auctioneer

Auctioneers engage in the business of selling for another real, personal or mixed property by auction. Before an auction begins, auctioneers may decide what articles are worth and arrange them in lots according to type or value. They begin auctions by stating or asking for a starting bid, describing the merchandise and may tell bidders about the history or ownership of items. Ask for bids, and sell such item to the highest bidder. Keep records of the sale and ensure that consignors are properly paid.

## Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 311-B

Administrative Rules: Chapter Auc 100 - 500

#### **Licensure Requirements**

- Must be 18 years old by the date of application to the Board
- Recommendations from two individuals with whom the applicant has done past business dealings
- Applicant must file a bond with the Secretary of State in the sum of \$25,000
- Applicants must have one of the following qualifications:
  - qualifications:

    1. Auction school certificate, with a
  - minimum of 80 hours of instruction, including a minimum of 50 hours in core curriculum subject matter and 30 hours of optional subject matter; plus a written examination, given by the school, with a minimum passing score of 75 percent;
  - 2. A minimum of six months' apprenticeship over the course of not less than ten auctions under the supervision of a qualified auctioneer;
  - 3. A certified copy of a valid current auctioneer's license, held by the applicant from any other state whose laws are not sufficient for reciprocity, issued by the appropriate state agency, a letter of good standing from said agency, and an affidavit proving licensure for at least six months and conduct of at least ten auctions within the five year period of time immediately prior to the application; or
  - 4. License from another state with auctioneer's license requirements which are substantially equivalent to or higher than those of New Hampshire

#### **Examination**

Written examination required except for those eligible for reciprocity. Exams are offered four times per year.

## **Continuing Education**

Not required

#### **Regulatory Agency**

#### **New Hampshire Board of Auctioneers**

Office of the Secretary of State State House, Room 204

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-3242 fax (603) 271-6316

web <https://sos.nh.gov/administration/administration/</pre>

auctioneers>

contact Kaley Dion, Secretary
e-mail kaley.dion@sos.nh.gov

#### Fees

Examination fee											. \$75.00
License (biennial) .											\$200.00

# Auctioneer (continued)

# Reciprocity

Permitted with the states of Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and West Virginia

#### **Active Licenses**

400

# **Related Training**

Auctioneering

#### O\*Net Codes

41-9099.00 Sales and Related Workers, All Other

#### **Additional Information Sources**

New Hampshire Auctioneers Association <a href="https://www.newhampshireauctioneers.org">www.newhampshireauctioneers.org</a>