Licensed, Certified, and Registered Occupations in New Hampshire 2019

Advise individuals and businesses on legal matters. Conduct civil and criminal lawsuits, advise clients on their legal
rights, draw up documents, and gather evidence to formulate defense or initiate legal action. Prepare legal briefs;

develop strategy, arguments, and testimony in preparation for presentation of case. Many attorneys specialize in a
branch of law such as corporate, criminal, labor, patent, real estate, tax, or international law. Some help write laws
and establish ways to enforce them. A few teach or hold management positions.

Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 311
Supreme Court Rule: 42

Licensure Requirements
* Must be 18 years of age or older
* Must be of good moral character

* US citizenship is not required, but applicants
must be domiciled in the United States

* Complete at least three years toward a
Bachelor’s degree

* Graduate from a law school approved by

Regulatory Agency

Office of Bar Admissions
New Hampshire Supreme Court
4 Chenell Drive, Suite 102
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 224-8806

fax (603) 224-8728

web <www.courts.state.nh.us>

contact Sherry M. Hieber, General Counsel,
Office of Bar Admissions

e-mail shieber@nhoba.org

the American Bar Association. Note that Massachusetts School of Law is not approved by the ABA. However,
the New Hampshire Supreme Court has granted a waiver allowing graduates of these schools who are already
members of the Bar in some other state to be admitted.

* Must be a member of the New Hampshire Bar Association and pay annual dues

Examination

Pass the New Hampshire Bar Examination
and the Multistate Professional
Responsibility Examination (MPRE), or be
admitted on motion.

Continuing Education

Twelve credits per year

Reciprocity

Lawyers admitted to the bar in another
state or the District of Columbia may be
eligible for admission to the New Hampshire
Bar on motion without examination

Active Licenses

Approximately 4,500

Related Training

Law; Legal Research and Advanced
Professional Studies

Fees
Examination, NHBar. . . . . . ... ... .. ..... $725.00
Admissionon Motion . . . . . ... ... ... ... $1,225.00
Admission by Transferred UBE Score . . . . . ... .. $725.00
Annual dues, NH Bar Association. . . . . .. .. Contact NH Bar
O*Net Codes

23-1011.00 Lawyers

Additional Information Sources

New Hampshire Bar Association
<www.nhbar.org>

National Conference of Bar Examiners
<www.ncbex.org>

New Hampshire Employment Security, Economic and Labor Market Information Bureau
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