Appendix E: New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council

The New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council is responsible for providing basic mandatory training for all full-time and part-time law enforcement officers. They must complete the basic school for their requested certification within six months of hire. State Troopers, Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs, Conservation Officers, Liquor Investigators, Gaming Investigators, Corrections Officers, Probation and Parole Officers, University Police Officers, and Marine Patrol Officers, as well as Municipal Police Officers all attend training at New Hampshire Police Standards.

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council

Arthur D. Kehas Criminal Justice Training Facility and Campus 17 Institute Drive

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2133
fax (603) 271-1785
web <www.pstc.nh.gov>
contact John V. Scippa, Director
e-mail john.v.scippa@pst.nh.gov

Individuals must already be employed by a law enforcement agency to attend the Academy; outside students are not accepted. The local police department pays the student's salary while he or she attends. For full-time officers, a 16-week residency is required. The school is run according to paramilitary discipline, with reveille at 5:30 am and "lights out" at 9:30 pm.

PSTC also conducts academies for part-time law enforcement officers, who must complete a 200-hour curriculum. These are usually commuter (non-residential) schools with classes at night and on the weekends.

State Corrections Officers are required to attend a nine-week Corrections Academy held at the Police Training Facility in Concord, including both physical and classroom training, within six months of hire. State Probation and Parole Officers employed by the New Hampshire Department of Corrections are required to attend 208 hours of basic training and become certified within six months of hire. The Council approves a five-week curriculum for County Corrections Officers, who are trained by the New Hampshire Association of Counties.

The Council also holds periodic in-service training seminars and schools for full-time and part-time officers, regionally and in Concord. These are non-mandatory and at no cost to the student, but he or she must be an active police officer in order to attend.

Academy Pre-Entry Requirements

- Must be hired by a law enforcement agency
- High school diploma or GED
- · No serious criminal or motor vehicle record
- Good credit history
- Pass a background investigation and a fingerprint check
- Pass a psychological evaluation and a medical exam by a licensed health professional
- Pass a physical fitness test
- · Meet minimum visual acuity and hearing standards
- Must be a United States citizen

Appendix E: New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council (continued)

Academy Graduation Requirements

Part-Time Officers

- Must complete a 200-hour part-time curriculum
- Must pass a background investigation, medical exam, and psychological evaluation
- Achieve a satisfactory grade in each academic module of the program
- Successfully complete all practical requirements to include driving, firearms, and defensive tactics
- Attend at least eight hours of ongoing training in other subjects annually, exclusive of firearms training, first aid and CPR certificate renewal, and defense tactics refreshers
- Complete annually required Use of Force training and firearms qualification
- Officers hired after January 1, 2001, are required to pass physical fitness tests and medical examinations every three years during their active service

Full-Time Officers

- Attend a 16-week residency at the Academy
- Must pass a background investigation, medical exam, and psychological evaluation
- Achieve a satisfactory grade in each academic module of the program
- Successfully complete all practical requirements to include driving, firearms and defensive tactics
- Attend at least eight hours of ongoing training in other subjects annually, exclusive of firearms training, first aid and CPR certificate renewal, and defense tactics refreshers
- Complete annually required Use of Force training and firearms qualification
- Officers hired after January 1, 2001, are required to pass physical fitness tests and medical examinations every three years during their active service

Corrections Officers

- Must complete a nine-week curriculum
- Applicants must pass a physical fitness test, background investigation, medical exam and psychological evaluation before entering
- Achieve a satisfactory grade in each academic module of the program
- Successfully complete all practical requirements to include firearms and defensive tactics
- Attend at least eight hours of ongoing training in other subjects annually, exclusive of firearms training, first aid and CPR certificate renewal, and defense tactics refreshers
- Complete annually required Use of Force training and firearms qualification (if issued)
- Officers hired after January 1, 2001, are required to pass physical fitness tests and medical examinations every three years during their active service

Appendix E: New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council (continued)

Reciprocity

- Anyone currently serving as a certified, Academy-trained, full-time police officer in another state may be eligible become certified through the reciprocal certification program
- All pre-hiring background investigations, medical and psychological exams, and physical fitness tests are still required
- The Corrections Academy is not reciprocal; all applicants must attend the entire nine-week course here in New Hampshire

Fees

All associated costs are paid by the employer.

O*Net Codes

33-3051.01 Police Patrol Officers;33-3012.00 Correctional Officers and Jailers

Active Licenses

2,839 certified full-time officers, 1,017 certified part-time officers, and about 499 corrections officers

Related Training

Criminal Justice/Police Science; Corrections