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Licensure Requirements
• New Hampshire residency is not required, 

but applicants must live or work in New 
Hampshire 51 percent of the Ɵ me

• US ciƟ zenship or status as a legal alien is 
required

• Every applicant for iniƟ al licensure or 
cerƟ fi caƟ on or reinstatement shall submit to 
the board a criminal history record release 
form, as provided by the New Hampshire 
division of state police, which authorizes the release of his or her criminal history record, if any, to the board. 

• The applicant shall submit with the release form a complete set of fi ngerprints taken by a qualifi ed  enforcement 
agency or an authorized employee of the department of safety.

Master Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (MLADC)

• 60-hour Master’s degree in clinical mental health, clinical psychology, substance use treatment, social work, or 
human services or equivalent, with clinical coursework and internship requirements, from an accredited college or 
university

• 300 hours of alcohol and drug use educaƟ on, which may be included in the coursework of the Master’s program

• 300 hours of supervised pracƟ cal training

• Either hold a current LADC license or pass the tesƟ ng procedures as idenƟ fi ed by the Board

• Either hold a current license issued by the Board of Mental Health PracƟ ce or pass the examinaƟ on approved by 
the Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other Drug Use Professionals to demonstrate competence to provide co-
occurring disorder counseling within the context of substance use counseling

• Complete 3,000 hours of clinically supervised post-masters degree work experience in the treatment of substance 
use and co-occurring disorders. Up to 1,500 hours of clinically supervised work experience accumulated by the 
applicant during his or her pracƟ ce as an LADC may be counted toward the required 3,000 hours. A current license 
issued by the Board of Mental Health PracƟ ce may be subsƟ tuted for 1,500 hours of the required 3,000 hours of 
clinically supervised work experience.

Provide qualifi ed alcohol abuse counseling, drug abuse counseling, combined alcohol and drug abuse counseling, 
counseling to families with substance abusing members, and counseling to children of alcoholics. Work in close 
collaboraƟ on with physicians and other health care personnel in paƟ ent evaluaƟ on and treatment. UƟ lize community 
resources to help paƟ ent resume life in the community and restore opƟ mum social and physical well-being.

LegislaƟ on
Statute: NH RSA 330-C
AdministraƟ ve Rules: Chapter Alc 100 - 500

New Hampshire Board of Licensing for Alcohol and Other 
Drug Use Professionals
Offi  ce of Professional Licensure and CerƟ fi caƟ on 
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-6762
fax   (603) 271-6702
web   <www.oplc.nh.gov/alcohol-other-drug/>
contact  JulieƩ e Rodriguez
email   NHLADC.NHLicensingBoard@oplc.nh.gov

Regulatory Agency

Alcohol and Drug Counselor
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Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor with an Associate’s Degree (LADC)

• Associate’s degree in substance use counseling, addicƟ on studies, or equivalent program

• 270 hours of alcohol and drug use educaƟ on within the degree-granƟ ng program or separately

• 6,000 hours of supervised work experience

• 300 hours of supervised pracƟ cal training within the degree-granƟ ng program, as part of the supervised work 
experience or separately

• Pass tesƟ ng procedures of a naƟ onally recognized credenƟ aling enƟ ty specifi ed by the Board

Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor with a Bachelor’s Degree (LADC)

• Bachelor’s degree in a clinical mental health, social work, psychology, substance use counseling, addicƟ on studies, 
human services discipline, or equivalent program from an accredited college or university

• 270 hours of alcohol and drug use educaƟ on within the degree-granƟ ng program or separately

• 4,000 hours of supervised work experience

• 300 hours of supervised pracƟ cal training within the degree-granƟ ng program, as part of the supervised work 
experience, or separately

• Pass tesƟ ng procedures of a naƟ onally recognized credenƟ aling enƟ ty specifi ed by the Board

Licensed Clinical Supervisor (LCS)

• Hold a current license as a MLADC or LADC

• 10,000 hours of experience as an alcohol and drug counselor

• 4,000 hours of experience as a clinical supervisor supervising professionals providing alcohol and drug counseling

• 200 hours of face-to-face clinical supervision

• 30 hours of training in clinical supervision covering assessment, evaluaƟ on, counselor development, management, 
administraƟ on, and professional responsibility

• Pass tesƟ ng procedures of a naƟ onally recognized credenƟ aling enƟ ty specifi ed by the Board

CerƟ fi ed Recovery Support Worker (CRSW)

• Have the ability to read and write in the English language

• Have a high school diploma or its equivalent; and

• 500 hours of work / paid / volunteer experience

• Passed IC & RC exam (PR)

• Completed 46 hours of educaƟ on covering the four domains areas 

ExaminaƟ on
• WriƩ en InternaƟ onal CerƟ fi caƟ on and Reciprocity ConsorƟ um/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Inc. (IC & RC) exam

• LADC / MLADC only - prepare a wriƩ en case study

ConƟ nuing EducaƟ on
• For MLADC / LADC renewals – 48 hours of approved conƟ nuing educaƟ on are required in the 24 months 

subsequent to date of licensure. For Clinical Supervisors, six hours of training on clinical supervision are required.

• For CRSW renewals – 12 hours of conƟ nuing educaƟ on during each two year cerƟ fi caƟ on period.

Alcohol and Drug Counselor (conƟ nued)
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Reciprocity
PermiƩ ed through applicaƟ on to the 
InternaƟ onal CerƟ fi caƟ on and Reciprocity 
ConsorƟ um

AcƟ ve Licenses
CerƟ fi ed Recovery Support Worker: 202

Master Licensed Alcohol and Drug Councelor/ 
Licensed Alcohol and Drug Councelor/ 
Licensed Clinical Supervisor: 557

Related Training
Substance Abuse/AddicƟ on Counseling; 
Clinical/Medical Social Work

InternaƟ onal CerƟ fi caƟ on and Reciprocity ConsorƟ um (IC&RC), 
Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
<www.internationalcredentialing.org>

AddiƟ onal InformaƟ on Sources

21-1011.00  Substance Abuse and Behavioral 
 Disorder Counselors
21-1011.00  Substance Abuse and Behavioral 
 Disorder Counselors

O*Net Codes

Alcohol and Drug Counselor (conƟ nued)

Fees

ExaminaƟ on administraƟ on fee  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$115.00 
Licensed Alcohol and Drug Councelor (LADC)
(IniƟ al and renewal)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$110.00
Master Licensed Alcohol and Drug Councelor  (MLADC)
(IniƟ al and renewal)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$240.00
Licensed Clinical Supervisor (LCS)
(IniƟ al and renewal)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$110.00
CerƟ fi ed Recovery Support Worker (CRSW)
(IniƟ al and renewal)   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$110.00
Reinstatement of cerƟ fi caƟ on   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$100.00 
Reinstatement of license   .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .$100.00 


