FACT SHEET WorkShare — New Hampshire

\ WorkShare Plan Information \

New Hampshire’s WorkShare
o Reduction can be between 10%-50% of

Helping NH Employers avoid Temporary the standard work hours, applied
Layoffs uniformly across the unit.

_ o o A plan must have at |east two
WorkShare is anew program beginning on employees,
May 11, 2010. WorkShare allows for the o If employees are covered by a Collective
payment of unemployment compensation Bargaining Agreement, the plan must be
benefits to eligible individuals whose hours approved, in writing, by the collective
are reduced by an empl oyer with an barga] ni ng unit's agent.
approved WorkShare plan.

How to Participate

\ Advantages of WorkShare \

To participate in the program an employer

Employees: must submit a WorkShare plan for approval.
_ The plan can be submitted online at

o Stay employed during atemporary http://nhuis.nh.gov/employer.
slowdown.

0 Retain some economic stability by Once received, the application will be
collecting a percentage of their reduced approved or denied within 15 business days.
wages through unemployment A plan will not start prior to 21 calendar
compensation. days from submission date. A Denial cannot

0 Maintain their medical coverage. be appealed; but an employer may submit a

0 Retaintheir company provided new plan for consideration and a
retirement based on hours worked. determination will be made based on the

new information submitted on the

Employers: application.

o Retain their trained workforce to be Employees must either open an initial
ready when the business conditions unemployment compensation claim or
Improve. . N reopen an existing claim and be monetarily

o Avoid the expense of hiring, recruiting eligible to collect unemployment
and retraining new employees. compensation.

| Who May Participate | | WorkShare Benefits Calculations |

All NH employers whose taxes are current WorkShare participants will receive a

and who are in good standing with the NH benefit amount based on the percentage of

Department of Labor are eligible to submit a the hour reduction. A Federal Assistance

plan. Seasondl, intermittent, and/or Compensation program payment may also

temporary part-time employees are not be paid.

eligible.

Weekly benefit amounts may be reduced for
additional hours worked. Reductions shall
be made when an employee works for anon-
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WorkShare employer and earns more than
$128 during that week.

o If an employee’ s weekly benefit amount
is$427 and the individual has a 40%
reduction in their weekly hours of work,
then they could be digible for $171.00
(427 X 40% = 171) in addition to the
wages earned from the employer for
hours worked.

o If theindividua also worked for anon-
WorkShare employer and earned $45.00,
they could still be eligible for $171.00
since the $45.00 islessthan $128in
addition to the wages earned from the
employer for hours worked.

o If theindividua worked for a non-
WorkShare employer and earned
$150.00, the amount that they would be
eligible for would be reduced by the
amount exceeding $128 ($150-$128=22;
$171-$22=$149).

\ WorkShare Check Information

o Per NH law, awaiting week must be
served by individuals collecting NH
Unemployment Compensation,
including WorkShare participants, unless
they have already served their waiting
week.

How Employers are Charged

All WorkShare benefits are charged to the
account of the WorkShare employer,
regardless of the length of time the
employee worked for a WorkShare
employer. Employersliable for paymentsin
lieu of contributions (reimbursable
employers) will be charged and billed for
the full amount of WorkShare benefits paid
to their employees. Employerswith a
negative balance must agree to reimburse
dollar for dollar for WorkShare benefitsto
be approved.

\ For More Information \

Please contact:

NH Employment Security
WorkShare BAU
518 White Mountain Highway
Conway, New Hampshire 03818-4205
Email: Workshare@NHES.nh.gv
Fax: 603-447-3951
Phone: 603-528-9360

http://nhuis.nh.gov/employer




