How Do | Register as an Employer and Pay Unemployment Taxes?
New Hampshire Employment Security Video Script

Hello, I’'m Janet of New Hampshire Employment Security.

If you are a business, whether large or small, are a non-profit organization or an
individual who employs one or more New Hampshire workers, you will need to
complete an Employer Status Report. The Employer Status Report must be
completed within 30 days of first furnishing employment and can be found on-
line at www.nhes.nh.gov . This is the initial registration form for a state
unemployment account number.

Not all firms or organizations are required to pay unemployment taxes. Certain
conditions must first be met. In general an employer will be initially subject or
liable to the law if they:
e Pay wages of $1,500 or more in a calendar quarter
e Have one or more workers working for some part of a day in 20 different
weeks in a calendar year
e Are liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA)
e Pay wages of $1,000 or more to a domestic worker
e Acquire the business of an already covered employer, or
e Pay wages of $20,000 or more for agricultural labor in a calendar quarter or
Have 10 or more workers for 20 weeks in a calendar year.

Once a business is found subject or liable to pay unemployment taxes, the
employer must file an Employer Quarterly Tax & Wage Report each quarter.
These reports are mailed to all employers every quarter and may be filed on-line
through our WEBTAX filing system, which can be found on our website at
www.nhes.nh.gov

Employer Quarterly Tax & Wage Reports must be filed timely or late filing fees
and interest will be assessed.

Some companies use independent contractors. Signing a contract does not
necessarily mean a person is an independent contractor for purposes of
unemployment tax. The most common mistake employer’s make is using an



independent contractor and concluding that no unemployment tax is due. If you
use independent contractors in your business, please visit our web site
www.nhes.nh.gov, and/or contact this department for guidance as to whether
the services they perform for your organization are subject to unemployment tax.

Once a business has been an employer subject to unemployment tax for at least
two years, their tax rate will be based on the amount of taxes paid over the years,
the amount of benefit charged on their account, and the average taxable wages
for the last three years.

More information regarding registering as an employer and paying
unemployment taxes can be found at our website at www.nhes.nh.gov, and in the
employer handbook publication which can also be found online.




