Tanning Equipment Operator

Operates tanning devices, controls the length of the exposure to UV light, and instructs the consumer in the proper use of the device. A tanning device is any equipment, including a sunlamp, tanning booth, and tanning bed, that emits electromagnetic radiation with wavelengths in the air between 200 and 400 nanometers and is used for the tanning of human skin. The term also includes any accompanying equipment, including protective eyewear, timers, and handrails.

Legislation

Statutes: NH RSA 313-A

Administrative Rule: Chapter Bar 600

Registration Requirements

- · Must be at least 18 years of age
- Complete a training program in tanning device operation approved by the Board in a classroom from a certified instructor
- Tanning facilities must maintain a list of the facility's trained operators; individuals are not required to register with the Board

Examination

Not required

Continuing Education

Not required

Reciprocity

Not permitted

Active Licenses

85 tanning facilities

Related Training

Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Arts, All Other

Regulatory Agency

New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics

Office of Professional Licensing and Certification

7 Eagle Square

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone (603) 271-2152 fax (603) 271-3950

web https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-barbering-

cosmetology-and-esthetics>

contact Board Administrator

e-mail customersupport@oplc.nh.gov

Fees

Annual registration, tanning facility \$45.00

O*Net Codes

39-9099.00 Personal Care and Service Workers, All Other

Additional Information Sources

Not available