# School Social Worker

School Social Workers diagnose student problems and arrange needed services, counsel children in trouble and help integrate disabled children into the general school population. Deal with problems such as student pregnancy, misbehavior in class, excessive absences and advise teachers on how to deal with problem students.

## Legislation

Statute: NH RSA 186 Administrative Rules: Chapter Ed 500

## **Certification Requirements**

- Qualify through one of the available Alternative Pathways for licensure described on NH Department of Education webpage.
- Have completed a Master's level specialist program in school social work from an accredited institution; or
- Have earned a Master's degree in social work and one of the following:

# **Regulatory Agency**

#### **Bureau of Credentialing**

Division of Educator Support and Higher Education New Hampshire Department of Education 101 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

phone	(603) 271-2409
fax	(603) 271-4134
web	<www.education.nh.gov division-of-<br="" who-we-are="">educator-support-and-higher-education/bureau-of-</www.education.nh.gov>
	credentialing>
contact	Administrator
e-mail	cert.info@doe.nh.gov

- Have completed an approved conversion program in school social work which shall include a 2-year internship supervised by a certified or licensed school social worker; or
- <sup>o</sup> Have acquired the knowledge and skills of a school social worker under Ed 505.04 or 505.05

There are multiple levels of credentials, each with varying requirements:

#### • Intern Authorization

- <sup>o</sup> Have met the requirements for a Statement of Eligibility
- <sup>o</sup> Currently be employed in the field of education in a New Hampshire public or non-public school
- ° Intern authorizations are granted for the duration of the individualized professional development plan
- Educators who hold a valid intern authorization receive a beginning educator license after the Bureau approves the required report of completion under the individualized professional development plan

#### • Beginning Educator License

- ° Beginning educator licenses are issued for an initial period of three years
- Upon completion of three years of full-time educator experience while maintaining a valid credential, a beginning educator is qualified for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be "effective" or better under the local supervision and evaluation system for at least two consecutive years.
- Experienced Educator License
  - Upon completion of three years of full-time educator experience while maintaining a valid credential, a beginning educator is qualified for an experienced educator license only if the educator is determined to be "effective" or better under the local supervision and evaluation system for at least two consecutive years.
  - ° An experienced educator credential shall be issued for three years

# School Social Worker (continued)

#### Examination

Not required

# **Continuing Education**

Staff development activities totaling 45 Professional Education continuing education units and 30 continuing education units per endorsement during the three-year licensure period.

## Reciprocity

Permitted in accordance with the NASDTEC Interstate Contract

#### **Active Licenses**

Not provided

## **Related Training**

Social Work; Youth Services/Administration

#### Fees

Three-year licensure .										\$120.00
Three-year renewal .										\$120.00

Additional fees vary by pathway for licensure and number of endorsements applied for.

Exam fees are set by each testing company.

# **O\*Net Codes**

21-1021.00 Child, Family, and School Social Workers

# **Additional Information Sources**

National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification (NASDTEC) <www.nasdtec.org>

School Social Work Association of America <www.sswaa.org>